SouthGlenn Mall Reborn as The Streets at SouthGlenn - Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

SouthGlenn Mall Reborn as The Streets at SouthGlenn

Client: Alberta Development Partners, LLC

Redevelopment involves a myriad of legal issues, from joint venture structuring to public and private financing.

Like other aging 1970s era shopping malls across the country, SouthGlenn Mall in the early 2000s was experiencing declining revenues and needed improvements. Alberta Development Partners turned to us for comprehensive legal representation and strategic counsel as they moved to redevelop, and revitalize, the once bustling Centennial, Colorado, mall.

Alberta’s objective was to create a new, mixed-use center called The Streets at SouthGlenn, which would boast nearly one million square feet of retail space, 140,000 square feet of office space and 200 for-rent luxury residences. With the largest and most comprehensive real estate practice in the region, Brownstein was ideally positioned to help the company plot a course through the myriad issues related to large-scale real estate development, including joint venture structuring, public-private partnerships, land use, condemnation, leasing, corporate and municipal tax and environmental issues.

To help Alberta meet its goals, we assembled specialized teams of attorneys from our Real Estate, Land Use, Natural Resources, Tax, Finance and Business and Corporate Advisory Groups. Working in close partnership with Alberta staff, these teams managed the challenges facing this multi-faceted project, and served as general counsel on the deal, helping to smooth the path to a successful implementation.

Fast forward to 2014. The Streets at SouthGlenn is an urban lifestyle destination drawing shoppers back to the area, invigorating surrounding neighborhoods and producing increased tax revenue for the entire Centennial community.

Meet The Team

Rob Kaufmann Shareholder T 303.223.1176 rkaufmann@bhfs.com
Tal Diamant Shareholder T 303.223.1235 tdiamant@bhfs.com
Ashley B. Wingfield Shareholder T 303.223.1218 awingfield@bhfs.com
Marc C. Diamant Shareholder T 303.223.1132 mdiamant@bhfs.com
C.J. Chapman Shareholder T 303.223.1243 cchapman@bhfs.com
Noelle Riccardella Shareholder T 303.223.1204 nriccardella@bhfs.com
Jonathan G. Pray Shareholder T 303.223.1211 jpray@bhfs.com
Carolynne C. White Shareholder T 303.223.1197 cwhite@bhfs.com