Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck has a proven track record helping clients successfully navigate the maze of politics and policy in Washington, D.C. and at the state and local levels. When the stakes are high, clients rely on our bipartisan team to overcome their public-policy challenges. Our political professionals include: veteran strategists, campaign operatives, a former Cabinet Secretary, a party chair, former senior House and Senate Capitol Hill staff, former career and appointed senior executive branch officials, state elected officials and former high ranking federal and state attorney’s general staffers in addition to a bevy of experienced lobbyists. When you demand results, our government relations specialists deliver.

We are a full-service lobbying, public policy and legal representation practice that helps companies, associations, non-profits and other organizations interpret federal government actions, solve challenges and seize opportunities through interaction with government officials. Our work includes legislative consulting, lobbying, policy development, public relations strategy, political messaging and representation in front of the Congress, federal agencies and regulatory bodies. With seasoned government relations professionals in every Brownstein office, we are able to provide comprehensive service at the federal, state and local levels throughout the country.

Contacts
Michael F. Feeley 303.223.1237 mfeeley@bhfs.com
Marc S. Lampkin 202.652.2341 mlampkin@bhfs.com
Representative Matters
  • Represent several solar and wind firms in obtaining land use and environmental permits, negotiating supplier and provider contracts, and obtaining NEPA approvals.

  • Represents the Mexican Embassy on an international Treaty matter.

  • Brownstein advocated on behalf of DISH Network Corporation (DISH) for the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to remove outdated regulations and grant terrestrial flexibility for most of the AWS-4 band. The FCC's actions directly facilitated wireless competition and innovation.

  • Represents the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Institute for Legal Reform, the nation’s preeminent legal reform organization.

  • On behalf of an association representing private insurance services, Brownstein successfully managed Congressional passage of a federal insurance program reauthorization. This reauthorization was the first in 12 years.

  • Represent the MusicFirst Coalition on a copyright matter.

  • On behalf of a national legal reform organization of Fortune 500 companies and civil defense firms, advocate for amendments to the federal rules of civil procedure to reduce the cost and burdens of civil discovery.

  • Represent a major sports league on a copyright piracy matter.

  • Represent the Electronic Payments Coalition, a coalition of electronic services companies concerned about regulation of the electronic payments market.

  • On behalf of an association representing private insurance services, Brownstein successfully managed Congressional passage of a federal insurance program reauthorization. This reauthorization was the first in 12 years.

  • On behalf of a major real estate client, worked through an industry group to pass bipartisan tax legislation in the United States Senate.

  • Engaged Congress and the Department of Justice in forming a relationship with one of the largest non-profits in the United States focused on girl’s and women’s issues. Collaboration yielded the successful development and funding of three programs at the Department of Justice, focused on serving girls in non-traditional settings.

  • Prevented the expansion of foreign trade that created a competitive advantage for a rival metals producer.

  • Served as bond counsel for the City of Albuquerque, New Mexico in connection with a public sale of $69,795,000 Series 2012A & B Bonds to fund various public projects and private placement of $11,525,000 of Series 2012C and D Bonds.

  • For a utility client, worked to modify onerous EPA regulations and coordinated a strategy to amend those rules, including meetings with senior agency officials and other Administration policy makers. Also enlisted a congressional strategy that brought together a coalition of Members to push for a more favorable outcome in the rules. Ultimately, the EPA amended the rules in a way that saved our client hundreds of millions of dollars.

  • Served as the independent examiner charged with reviewing a component of an agreement between the State Attorneys General and a prominent Internet social networking company.

  • On behalf of First Solar, NRG Solar, and others, evaluation of New Mexico state and local tax burdens on utility-scale PV and solar thermal projects; evaluated potentially applicable state and local tax incentives; drafted and lobbied legislation to clarify ambiguities and gaps in existing law; assisted in structuring project related transactions to minimize state and local tax burdens; and assisted clients in the administrative aspects of implementing tax strategy. Tim has also represented several utility scale wind farm developers on similar issues.

  • Served as bond counsel for the City of Albuquerque, NM in connection with the sale of $135,000,000 short-term general obligation bonds, Series 2011A.

  • Spearheaded a successful negotiation involving a telecommunications company and two federal agencies resulting in a favorable outcome for the client, thereby preserving its business model.

  • Helped large homebuilders in their goal of passing reform of net operating loss tax legislation.

  • Development of a process and framework to select a zero emissions technology for subsequent preparation of a RFQ/RFP to implement an environmentally friendly system to move shipping containers from the ports' docks to railroad distribution yards. Advised the ports concerning selection of procurement frameworks, public contracting, public relations, public records and confidential information.

  • Represent an international asset management firm in obtaining regulatory approval in 38 states for the company to beneficially hold shares in 10 publicly-traded gaming companies. These approvals, which included applications for certification as an institutional investor in casinos, gaming manufacturers, gaming distributors and gaming suppliers, enabled the company and its affiliates and subsidiaries to passively invest in publicly-traded gaming companies.

  • Served as bond counsel for the City of Albuquerque, New Mexico in connection with the sale of $24,940,000 Short-Term General Obligation Bonds, Series 2010A and Short-term General Obligation Storm Sewer Bonds, Series 2010B.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque in the negotiation of the IRB lease agreement relative to Phillips Semiconductor's plant closure. Gulfstream Worldwide Realty, Inc. vs. Philips Electronics North America Corporation.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque in the formation of the Mesa del Sol, Quorum at ABQ Uptown and Winrock Tax Increment Development Districts. Represented Sandia View LLC in the formation of the Village of Rio Rancho Tax Increment Development District. Represents Verde Realty in connection with district formation and other development on the border of the United States and Mexico.

  • The Firm represented the City of Albuquerque as bond counsel in the issuance of $26.3 million of special levy bonds by Public Improvement Districts.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque in the formation of the Ventana West, Saltillo, Montecito, The Trails, Volterra and Mesa del Sol Public Improvement Districts. Represented the Districts in multiple bond issuances representing more than $25 million.

  • Served as review counsel for the City of Albuquerque, New Mexico in connection with the issuance of an industrial revenue bond for the SUMCO Phoenix Corporation Project, Series 2010.

  • Led a large coalition of diverse companies and industries to pass a temporary provision in the 2009 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act that allows for a ten year deferral of cancellation of indebtedness income. The first five years will be tax free, with ratable payments in each of the last five years. This provision will apply to debt for cash, equity or other debt, and should prove to be an important tool for companies that need to restructure debt in the midst of this severe economic down turn.

  • Led a large coalition of diverse companies and industries to pass a temporary provision in the 2009 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act that allows for a ten year deferral of cancellation of indebtedness income. The first five years will be tax free, with ratable payments in each of the last five years. This provision will apply to debt for cash, equity or other debt, and should prove to be an important tool for companies that need to restructure debt in the midst of this severe economic down turn.

  • Represented a sporting venue/event center in a Title III challenge under the American Disabilities Act.

  • On behalf of private equity clients, preserved the controlled company exemption under existing NYSE rule in the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.

  • On behalf of a wind energy producer and biofuels producers, worked with a coalition of renewable energy sources to ensure that the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act included an important provision extending the production tax credit (PTC) for renewable resources for three years.

  • Assisted a small pharmaceutical company in obtaining appropriate reimbursement rates under new health reform law.

  • Successfully worked with the tobacco industry to equalize federal excise tax rates across similar products. This provision helped finance the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP).

  • Represented an association of builders and contractors in efforts to obtain weatherization training grants under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

  • Represented a western electrical utility with a large coal generation base regarding laws and proposals dealing with climate change. Advised the client regarding the economic and environmental issues relating to potential federal and state climate change laws. Representation included regulatory advocacy and advice on corporate climate change policy.

  • Served as tax counsel in connection with securing a $29,295,000 Taxable Loan 2009A-1, a $9,505,000 Tax-Exempt Loan 2009A-2 and a $20,035,000 Tax-Exempt Loan 2009B facility for Central Platte Valley Metropolitan District in the City and County of Denver.

  • Represent a large electrical utility in a Clean Air Act investigation of a coal fired power plant. The EPA investigation covers over 25 years of documents and environmental and operational data at the multi-unit power plant. Representation involves advising the utility on its response to the agency and managing the production of tens of thousands of documents and data.

  • Represent a large electrical utility regarding laws and proposals dealing with federal and state renewable energy policy and incentives. Advise the client regarding issues relating to potential federal and state renewable portfolio standards, federal tax incentives and the U.S. Department of Energy loan guarantee programs.

  • Represented U.S. mortgage company in congressional and related criminal investigations. Persuaded Congress not to hold hearings or otherwise investigate the matter.

  • Represented construction contractors for Colorado's $1.8 billion T-REX highway and light rail expansion project, as well as for the state’s $845 million E-470 Public Highway Project. Counseled on contract formation, worked in design and construction claims and disputes, and litigated cases related to the Denver International Airport Terminal and Concourse C Project, Colorado’s Jefferson County Government Center Project, the Black Hawk Casino by Hyatt Project, the Denver Convention Center Hotel Project, and the Ray Nixon Power Plant (Colorado Springs, CO).

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque, New Mexico as bond counsel in its issuance of $10.5 million Gross Receipts Tax/Lodgers' Tax Refunding Revenue Bonds, Series 2009A and $28.3 million Gross Receipts Tax Refunding Revenue Bonds, Series 2009B.

  • Provided strategic counsel to Bion Environmental Technologies, Inc. in establishing federal-level guidance for a nutrient trading program and in evaluating the possibility of a cellulosic-styled tax credit that would apply to Bion's process for producing cellulose-based renewable energy. Brownstein facilitated meetings with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ), key members of Congress and other strategic government officials to discuss the issue of basin-wide nutrient trading and energy production from Bion's integrated facilities.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque as bond counsel in its issuance of $54.9 million General Purpose General Obligation Bonds, Series 2009A and $25 million Short-Term General Obligation Bonds, Series 2009B.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque, New Mexico as bond counsel in the issuance of $14.9 million in commercial paper notes for projects at Albuquerque International Sunport.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque as review counsel in connection with the issuance of $100 million in industrial revenue bonds, Series 2009, on behalf of General Mills.

  • Assisting Rentech in obtaining favorable biofuels legislation in Congress, as well as assisting with loan and tax relief from Colorado and Commerce City.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque, New Mexico as bond counsel in its issuance of $11.2 million Gross Receipts Tax Revenue Bonds for Beach, Bluewater and Manzano Vista projects, Series 2008B.

  • Negotiations with the EPA regarding hexavalent chromium issues and potential responsible parties involving the contribution for remediation.

  • Served as tax counsel in securing a $10,000,000 tax-exempt loan facility for the Breckenridge Mountain Metropolitan District in the Town of Breckenridge, Colorado.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque as bond counsel in the issuance of $37.5 million Airport Revenue Bonds, Series 2008D/E.

  • Acted as counsel to the rental car companies in a $36.5 million City and County of Denver, Colorado Airport Special Facilities Revenue Bonds Tax-Exempt Series 1999A, $38.9 Airport Special Facilities Revenue Refunding and Improvement Bonds Taxable Series 1999B and $3.1 Airport Development Revenue Bonds Taxable Series 1999C.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque as bond counsel in the issuance of $37 million Short-Term General Obligation Bonds, Series 2008C.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque as bond counsel in the issuance of $43 million General Obligation Bonds, Series 2008 A/B.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque as bond counsel in the issuance of $16.6 million Gross Receipts Tax Refunding Bonds, Taxable Series 2008A.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque as bond counsel in the issuance of $21.2 million Airport Refunding Revenue Bonds, Series 2008B/C.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque as bond counsel in the issuance of $13.6 million Airport Refunding Revenue Bonds, Series 2008.

  • Provided strategic advice and organization to an informal coalition of companies concerned about the makeup of the Federal Judiciary, resulting in legislation to modernize judicial salaries passing both the House and Senate Judiciary Committees.

  • Spearheaded and facilitated successful labor negotiations on behalf of a transportation client with industry partners and reached a mutually beneficial outcome. Coordinated and worked with key Congressional and Administration figures throughout the negotiation process to ensure a favorable result.

  • Amending the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act to eliminate frivolous lawsuits against private contractors working on behalf of hundreds of America’s district attorneys.

  • At the FCC, worked successfully to overturn a bureau level decision eliminating a client's satellite license authorization and obtain a favorable decision from the Commission reinstating the license.

Publications
News & Events

Meet The Team

Norman Brownstein Shareholder T 303.223.1101 nbrownstein@bhfs.com
Alfred E. Mottur Shareholder T 202.872.5284 amottur@bhfs.com
David Longly Bernhardt Shareholder T 202.296.7353 dbernhardt@bhfs.com
Makan Delrahim Shareholder T 202.872.5288 mdelrahim@bhfs.com
Gregory W. Berger Shareholder T 303.223.1158 gberger@bhfs.com
Hank Brown Senior Counsel T 303.223.1177 hbrown@bhfs.com
Mark Bolton Associate T 303.223.1239 mbolton@bhfs.com
Alexander R. Dahl Shareholder T 202.747.0508 adahl@bhfs.com
Chris Frahm Shareholder T 619.702.6917 cfrahm@bhfs.com
David P. Cohen Shareholder T 202.872.5283 dcohen@bhfs.com
Douglas J. Friednash Shareholder T 303.223.1189 dfriednash@bhfs.com
Janna Day Shareholder T 602.382.4056 jday@bhfs.com
Jason R. Dunn Shareholder T 303.223.1114 jdunn@bhfs.com
Michael F. Feeley Shareholder T 303.223.1237 mfeeley@bhfs.com
Rosanna L. Carvacho Counsel and Legislative Advocate T 916.594.9714 rcarvacho@bhfs.com
Sarah M. Clark Attorney and Policy Advisor T 303.223.1139 sclark@bhfs.com
Steven W. Farber Shareholder T 303.223.1109 sfarber@bhfs.com
Joshua J. Hicks Shareholder T 775.622.9450 jhicks@bhfs.com
Kenneth Khachigian Senior Partner T 949.498.3879 kkhachigian@bhfs.com
Michael Preston Green Shareholder T 602.382.4057 mgreen@bhfs.com
Melissa L. Kuipers Attorney and Policy Advisor T 303.223.1164 mkuipers@bhfs.com
Alisa Nave-Worth Associate T 702.464.7061 anave-worth@bhfs.com
R. James Nicholson Senior Counsel T 202.652.2344 jnicholson@bhfs.com
Kory A. Langhofer Shareholder T 602.382.4078 klanghofer@bhfs.com
Marc S. Lampkin Shareholder T 202.652.2341 mlampkin@bhfs.com
Manuel Ortiz Shareholder T 202.872.5297 mortiz@bhfs.com
William E. Moschella Shareholder T 202.652.2346 wmoschella@bhfs.com
Hal Stratton Shareholder T 505.724.9596 hstratton@bhfs.com
Ryan A. Smith Shareholder T 202.747.0507 rsmith@bhfs.com
Steven O. Sims Shareholder T 303.223.1149 ssims@bhfs.com
Greg A. Wesley Counsel and Legislative Advocate T 916.594.9717 gwesley@bhfs.com
Brooks A. Brunson Senior Policy Advisor T 202.652.2350 bbrunson@bhfs.com
Barry Jackson Strategic Advisor T 202.652.2342 bjackson@bhfs.com
Brian Wild Policy Director T 202.872.5295 bwild@bhfs.com
Christina M. Cobaugh Policy Assistant T 202.747.0516 ccobaugh@bhfs.com
Cate McCanless Senior Policy Advisor T 202.747.0505 cmccanless@bhfs.com
Carmencita N. M. Whonder Policy Director T 202.652.2343 cwhonder@bhfs.com
Douglas M. Maguire Senior Policy Advisor T 202.872.5289 dmaguire@bhfs.com
Elizabeth M. Gore Policy Director T 202.872.5296 egore@bhfs.com
Elizabeth A. Maier Policy Director T 202.872.5299 emaier@bhfs.com
Judy A. Black Policy Director T 202.872.5285 jblack@bhfs.com
Jon Hrobsky Policy Director T 202.872.5294 jhrobsky@bhfs.com
Jacob A. Johnson Senior Policy Advisor T 202.872.5287 jjohnson@bhfs.com
John Sonsalla Policy Advisor T 202.652.2357 jsonsalla@bhfs
Krystle M. Cluen Policy Assistant T 202.872.5282 kcluen@bhfs.com
Kandis N. McClure Policy Analyst T 702.464.7097 kmcclure@bhfs.com
Luke D. Johnson Policy Director T 202.747.0513 ldjohnson@bhfs.com
Laura Johnson Policy Assistant T 202.652.2349 ljohnson@bhfs.com
Matthew D. Dermody Policy Assistant T 202.747.0518 mdermody@bhfs.com
Michael B. Levy Policy Director T 202.872.5281 mlevy@bhfs.com
Martin L. Shultz Senior Policy Director T 602.382.4060 mshultz@bhfs.com
Peter M. Goelz Policy Assistant T 202.747.0500 pgoelz@bhfs.com
Robert B. Flock Policy Assistant T 202.652.2353 rflock@bhfs.com
Ryan S. O'Daniel Policy Advisor T 602.382.4082 rodaniel@bhfs.com
Zachary S. Pfister Policy Advisor T 202.652.2345 zpfister@bhfs.com