Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck has a proven track record helping clients successfully navigate the maze of politics and policy in Washington, D.C. and at the state and local levels. When the stakes are high, clients rely on our bipartisan team to overcome their public-policy challenges. Our political professionals include: veteran strategists, campaign operatives, a former Cabinet Secretary, a party chair, former senior House and Senate Capitol Hill staff, former career and appointed senior executive branch officials, state elected officials and former high ranking federal and state attorney’s general staffers in addition to a bevy of experienced lobbyists. When you demand results, our government relations specialists deliver.

We are a full-service lobbying, public policy and legal representation practice that helps companies, associations, non-profits and other organizations interpret federal government actions, solve challenges and seize opportunities through interaction with government officials. Our work includes legislative consulting, lobbying, policy development, public relations strategy, political messaging and representation in front of the Congress, federal agencies and regulatory bodies. With seasoned government relations professionals in every Brownstein office, we are able to provide comprehensive service at the federal, state and local levels throughout the country.

Contacts
Janna Day 602.382.4056 jday@bhfs.com
Marc S. Lampkin 202.652.2341 mlampkin@bhfs.com
Representative Matters
  • On behalf of a transportation client, successfully defeated a provision proposed by the Department of Transportation to repeal self-insurance for motor carriers through coalition building and strategic outreach to Congress.

  • On behalf of a multibillion-dollar freight transportation and logistics company, worked with business and labor leaders and the House Education and the Workforce Committee to reform the multiemployer pension plan system. This bipartisan effort resulted in the enactment of legislation to protect multiemployer pension plans’ solvency and prevent a bailout of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation.

  • Represent several solar and wind firms in obtaining land use and environmental permits, negotiating supplier and provider contracts, and obtaining NEPA approvals.

  • Brownstein advocated on behalf of DISH Network Corporation (DISH) for the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to remove outdated regulations and grant terrestrial flexibility for most of the AWS-4 band. The FCC's actions directly facilitated wireless competition and innovation.

  • Represents the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Institute for Legal Reform, the nation’s preeminent legal reform organization.

  • On behalf of an association representing private insurance services, Brownstein successfully managed Congressional passage of a federal insurance program reauthorization. This reauthorization was the first in 12 years.

  • Represents the Mexican Embassy on an international Treaty matter.

  • Represent a major sports league on a copyright piracy matter.

  • On behalf of an association representing private insurance services, Brownstein successfully managed Congressional passage of a federal insurance program reauthorization. This reauthorization was the first in 12 years.

  • Represent the MusicFirst Coalition on a copyright matter.

  • On behalf of a national legal reform organization of Fortune 500 companies and civil defense firms, advocate for amendments to the federal rules of civil procedure to reduce the cost and burdens of civil discovery.

  • Represent the Electronic Payments Coalition, a coalition of electronic services companies concerned about regulation of the electronic payments market.

  • Prevented the expansion of foreign trade that created a competitive advantage for a rival metals producer.

  • Engaged Congress and the Department of Justice in forming a relationship with one of the largest non-profits in the United States focused on girl’s and women’s issues. Collaboration yielded the successful development and funding of three programs at the Department of Justice, focused on serving girls in non-traditional settings.

  • Working with a utility and a trade association to develop and implement a strategy in response to Clean Air Act rules.

  • Served as the independent examiner charged with reviewing a component of an agreement between the State Attorneys General and a prominent Internet social networking company.

  • For a utility client, worked to modify onerous EPA regulations and coordinated a strategy to amend those rules, including meetings with senior agency officials and other Administration policy makers. Also enlisted a congressional strategy that brought together a coalition of Members to push for a more favorable outcome in the rules. Ultimately, the EPA amended the rules in a way that saved our client hundreds of millions of dollars.

  • Spearheaded a successful negotiation involving a telecommunications company and two federal agencies resulting in a favorable outcome for the client, thereby preserving its business model.

  • Development of a process and framework to select a zero emissions technology for subsequent preparation of a RFQ/RFP to implement an environmentally friendly system to move shipping containers from the ports' docks to railroad distribution yards. Advised the ports concerning selection of procurement frameworks, public contracting, public relations, public records and confidential information.

  • Represent an international asset management firm in obtaining regulatory approval in 38 states for the company to beneficially hold shares in 10 publicly-traded gaming companies. These approvals, which included applications for certification as an institutional investor in casinos, gaming manufacturers, gaming distributors and gaming suppliers, enabled the company and its affiliates and subsidiaries to passively invest in publicly-traded gaming companies.

  • Represented the City of Albuquerque in the negotiation of the IRB lease agreement relative to Phillips Semiconductor's plant closure. Gulfstream Worldwide Realty, Inc. vs. Philips Electronics North America Corporation.

  • Led a large coalition of diverse companies and industries to pass a temporary provision in the 2009 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act that allows for a ten year deferral of cancellation of indebtedness income. The first five years will be tax free, with ratable payments in each of the last five years. This provision will apply to debt for cash, equity or other debt, and should prove to be an important tool for companies that need to restructure debt in the midst of this severe economic down turn.

  • Led a large coalition of diverse companies and industries to pass a temporary provision in the 2009 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act that allows for a ten year deferral of cancellation of indebtedness income. The first five years will be tax free, with ratable payments in each of the last five years. This provision will apply to debt for cash, equity or other debt, and should prove to be an important tool for companies that need to restructure debt in the midst of this severe economic down turn.

  • Represented a sporting venue/event center in a Title III challenge under the American Disabilities Act.

  • Assisted a small pharmaceutical company in obtaining appropriate reimbursement rates under new health reform law.

  • On behalf of private equity clients, preserved the controlled company exemption under existing NYSE rule in the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.

  • Represented an association of builders and contractors in efforts to obtain weatherization training grants under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

  • Represent a large electrical utility in a Clean Air Act investigation of a coal fired power plant. The EPA investigation covers over 25 years of documents and environmental and operational data at the multi-unit power plant. Representation involves advising the utility on its response to the agency and managing the production of tens of thousands of documents and data.

  • Represented a western electrical utility with a large coal generation base regarding laws and proposals dealing with climate change. Advised the client regarding the economic and environmental issues relating to potential federal and state climate change laws. Representation included regulatory advocacy and advice on corporate climate change policy.

  • Represented U.S. mortgage company in congressional and related criminal investigations. Persuaded Congress not to hold hearings or otherwise investigate the matter.

  • Represented construction contractors for Colorado's $1.8 billion T-REX highway and light rail expansion project, as well as for the state’s $845 million E-470 Public Highway Project. Counseled on contract formation, worked in design and construction claims and disputes, and litigated cases related to the Denver International Airport Terminal and Concourse C Project, Colorado’s Jefferson County Government Center Project, the Black Hawk Casino by Hyatt Project, the Denver Convention Center Hotel Project, and the Ray Nixon Power Plant (Colorado Springs, CO).

  • Negotiations with the EPA regarding hexavalent chromium issues and potential responsible parties involving the contribution for remediation.

  • Acted as counsel to the rental car companies in a $36.5 million City and County of Denver, Colorado Airport Special Facilities Revenue Bonds Tax-Exempt Series 1999A, $38.9 Airport Special Facilities Revenue Refunding and Improvement Bonds Taxable Series 1999B and $3.1 Airport Development Revenue Bonds Taxable Series 1999C.

  • Provided strategic advice and organization to an informal coalition of companies concerned about the makeup of the Federal Judiciary, resulting in legislation to modernize judicial salaries passing both the House and Senate Judiciary Committees.

  • Amending the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act to eliminate frivolous lawsuits against private contractors working on behalf of hundreds of America’s district attorneys.

  • Spearheaded and facilitated successful labor negotiations on behalf of a transportation client with industry partners and reached a mutually beneficial outcome. Coordinated and worked with key Congressional and Administration figures throughout the negotiation process to ensure a favorable result.

  • At the FCC, worked successfully to overturn a bureau level decision eliminating a client's satellite license authorization and obtain a favorable decision from the Commission reinstating the license.

  • Represent one of the largest water districts in the State of Arizona in connection with the NEPA review of a coal-fire powered plant.

Publications
News & Events

Meet The Team

Norman Brownstein Shareholder T 303.223.1101 nbrownstein@bhfs.com
Alfred E. Mottur Shareholder T 202.872.5284 amottur@bhfs.com
David Longly Bernhardt Shareholder T 202.296.7353 dbernhardt@bhfs.com
Makan Delrahim Shareholder T 202.872.5288 mdelrahim@bhfs.com
Gregory W. Berger Shareholder T 303.223.1158 gberger@bhfs.com
Hank Brown Senior Counsel T 303.223.1177 hbrown@bhfs.com
Alexander R. Dahl Shareholder T 202.747.0508 adahl@bhfs.com
Chris Frahm Shareholder T 619.702.6917 cfrahm@bhfs.com
David P. Cohen Shareholder T 202.872.5283 dcohen@bhfs.com
Janna Day Shareholder T 602.382.4056 jday@bhfs.com
Jason R. Dunn Shareholder T 303.223.1100 jdunn@bhfs.com
Michael F. Feeley Shareholder T 303.223.1237 mfeeley@bhfs.com
Rosanna L. Carvacho Counsel and Legislative Advocate T 916.594.9714 rcarvacho@bhfs.com
Sarah M. Clark Attorney and Policy Advisor T 303.223.1139 sclark@bhfs.com
Steven W. Farber Shareholder T 303.223.1109 sfarber@bhfs.com
Joshua J. Hicks Shareholder T 775.622.9450 jhicks@bhfs.com
Kenneth Khachigian Senior Partner T 949.498.3879 kkhachigian@bhfs.com
Melissa L. Kuipers Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 303.223.1164 mkuipers@bhfs.com
Alisa Nave-Worth Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 702.464.7061 anave-worth@bhfs.com
Christopher O. Murray Shareholder T 303.223.1183 cmurray@bhfs.com
R. James Nicholson Senior Counsel T 202.652.2344 jnicholson@bhfs.com
Kory A. Langhofer Shareholder T 602.382.4078 klanghofer@bhfs.com
Marc S. Lampkin Shareholder T 202.652.2341 mlampkin@bhfs.com
Manuel Ortiz Shareholder T 202.872.5297 mortiz@bhfs.com
William E. Moschella Shareholder T 202.652.2346 wmoschella@bhfs.com
Hal Stratton Shareholder T 505.724.9596 hstratton@bhfs.com
Ryan A. Smith Shareholder T 202.747.0507 rsmith@bhfs.com
Steven O. Sims Shareholder T 303.223.1149 ssims@bhfs.com
Brooks A. Brunson Senior Policy Advisor T 202.652.2350 bbrunson@bhfs.com
Barry Jackson Strategic Advisor T 202.652.2342 bjackson@bhfs.com
Brian Wild Policy Director T 202.872.5295 bwild@bhfs.com
Cate McCanless Senior Policy Advisor T 202.747.0505 cmccanless@bhfs.com
Carmencita N. M. Whonder Policy Director T 202.652.2343 cwhonder@bhfs.com
Douglas M. Maguire Senior Policy Advisor T 202.872.5289 dmaguire@bhfs.com
Don Perata Policy Director T 916.594.9717 dperata@bhfs.com
Elizabeth M. Gore Policy Director T 202.872.5296 egore@bhfs.com
Elizabeth A. Maier Policy Director T 202.872.5299 emaier@bhfs.com
Emily J. Sullivan Policy Advisor T 202.747.0518 esullivan@bhfs.com
Judy A. Black Policy Director T 202.872.5285 jblack@bhfs.com
Jon Hrobsky Policy Director T 202.872.5294 jhrobsky@bhfs.com
John Sonsalla Policy Advisor T 202.652.2357 jsonsalla@bhfs.com
Kandis N. McClure Policy Advisor T 702.464.7097 kmcclure@bhfs.com
Luke D. Johnson Policy Director T 202.747.0513 ldjohnson@bhfs.com
Laura J. Bollier Policy Advisor T 202.652.2349 ljohnson@bhfs.com
Mark Begich Strategic Advisor T 202-652-2351 Ext. 1037 mbegich@bhfs.com
Michael B. Levy Policy Director T 202.872.5281 mlevy@bhfs.com
Martin L. Shultz Senior Policy Director T 602.382.4060 mshultz@bhfs.com
Peter M. Goelz Policy Assistant T 202.747.0500 pgoelz@bhfs.com
Robert B. Flock Policy Advisor T 202.652.2353 rflock@bhfs.com
Tyler Tilghman Policy Assistant T 202.872.5282 ttilghman@bhfs.com
Zachary S. Pfister Policy Advisor T 202.652.2345 zpfister@bhfs.com