Energy & Natural Resources - Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck is your guide to the complex, ever changing legal environment that surrounds energy and natural resources. Today, businesses in almost every industry face complex legal challenges from increasing regulatory oversight, growing public scrutiny and new environmental laws. With nationally respected practitioners in water, energy, hazardous waste, land use and renewable energy, we deliver the legal services required to balance prosperity and environmental responsibility.

Our attorneys practice in virtually every area of natural resource law and bring superlative legal skills, extensive experience in Washington, D.C., and valuable relationships developed from years of practice to navigate the most complex natural resource matters. We routinely represent resource users, public agencies and utilities, manufacturers, mining and extraction companies, large landowners and developers in all aspects of their business. We also counsel associations, nonprofits and others organizations in the energy, natural resources and environmental space. Regardless of industry, we take a multi-disciplinary approach that brings together legal, lobbying and strategic services.

Contacts
David Longly Bernhardt 202.296.7353 dbernhardt@bhfs.com
Scott S. Slater 310.500.4600 sslater@bhfs.com
Representative Matters
  • Successfully represented the Colorado Oil and Gas Association in litigation against Lafayette, Fort Collins, and Longmont regarding bans or moratoria on hydraulic fracturing activities, prevailing on summary judgment in each matter. This litigation involved precedent-setting issues pertaining to state versus local preemption of oil and gas activities, and culminated in two rulings by the Colorado Supreme Court striking down Longmont's ban and For Collin's five-year moratorium on hydraulic fracturing.

  • Successfully represented a large oil and gas company in a high profile regulatory proceeding before the Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission regarding potential violations related to the company's deep water injection wells and low-level earthquakes in the region. This work included assisting the company in obtaining permits for new deep water injection wells.

  • Represented Noble Energy and WPX Energy in opposing potential state-wide ballot initiatives impacting oil and gas operations. This work included devising a legal and government relations strategy to oppose twelve different ballot measures.

  • Representation of a national solar module manufacturer in connection with tax incentives on a solar photovoltaic project in Clark County, Nevada

  • Represented Recovery Energy, Inc. in its purchase of 19 working wells in Colorado, Nebraska, Wyoming, Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas. Also represented Recovery Energy, Inc in a $23 million equity private placement.

  • Successfully represented Madison Capital in an oil and gas case involving properties in Colorado and New Mexico.

  • Represented a large, multi-state cattle ranching operation in obtaining a favorable ruling from the IRS regarding a split-off of the business between family members.

  • Represented Aspect Abundant Shale, a Denver-based energy and natural resources company, in its $250 million sale of two natural gas wells in Arkansas to a Texas-based oil and natural gas company.

  • Successfully defended Trans-Canada Pipeline, a large Canadian pipeline company, in a gas transportation antitrust case in Federal Court in Montana. Paladin Associates v. Montana Power et al.

  • Provided land use and CEQA compliance advice to the first wind project in Santa Barbara County.

Publications
News & Events

Meet The Team

Peter N. Brown Shareholder T 805.882.1401 pbrown@bhfs.com
Beth Collins-Burgard Shareholder T 805.882.1419 bcollins@bhfs.com
Diane C. De Felice Shareholder T 310.500.4613 ddefelice@bhfs.com
Mark J. Mathews Shareholder T 303.223.1179 mmathews@bhfs.com
David Longly Bernhardt Shareholder T 202.296.7353 dbernhardt@bhfs.com
Hank Brown Senior Counsel T 303.223.1177 hbrown@bhfs.com
Alicia Harrison Land Use Planner T 805.882.1442 aharrison@bhfs.com
Jena Shoaf Acos Associate T 805.882.1427 jacos@bhfs.com
Robert P. Attai Shareholder T 303.223.1271 rattai@bhfs.com
Steven A. Amerikaner Shareholder T 805.882.1407 samerikaner@bhfs.com
Chris Frahm Shareholder T 619.702.6917 cfrahm@bhfs.com
Hubert A. Farbes, Jr. Shareholder T 303.223.1186 hfarbes@bhfs.com
Jessica L. Diaz Associate T 805-882-1416 jdiaz@bhfs.com
Michael T. Fife Shareholder T 805.882.1453 mfife@bhfs.com
Martha L. Fitzgerald Shareholder T 303.223.1472 mfitzgerald@bhfs.com
Wayne F. Forman Shareholder T 303.223.1120 wforman@bhfs.com
Bradley J. Herrema Shareholder T 310.500.4609 bherrema@bhfs.com
Christopher R. Guillen Associate T 310.500.4633 cguillen@bhfs.com
Christine A. Jochim Associate T 303.223.1163 cjochim@bhfs.com
Dulcinea Z. Hanuschak Shareholder T 303.223.1184 dhanuschak@bhfs.com
Dylan K. Johnson Associate T 805.882.1413 djohnson@bhfs.com
Gary M. Kvistad Shareholder T 805.882.1414 gkvistad@bhfs.com
John A. Helfrich Of Counsel T 303.223.1206 jhelfrich@bhfs.com
Kenneth Khachigian Senior Partner T 949.498.3879 kkhachigian@bhfs.com
Lawrence J. Jensen Shareholder T 202.747.0509 ljensen@bhfs.com
Stephanie Osler Hastings Shareholder T 805.882.1415 shastings@bhfs.com
Adrian T. LeCesne Associate T 619.702.6916 alecesne@bhfs.com
Andrew L. Meyers Shareholder T 303.223.1193 ameyers@bhfs.com
Wendy U. Nwosu Law Clerk T 805.882.1411 wnwosu@bhfs.com
Russell M. McGlothlin Shareholder T 805.882.1418 rmcglothlin@bhfs.com
Amy M. Steinfeld Shareholder T 805.882.1409 asteinfeld@bhfs.com
Hillary H. Steenberge Associate T 805.882.1432 hsteenberge@bhfs.com
Hal Stratton Shareholder T 505.724.9596 hstratton@bhfs.com
Julia E. Rhine T 303.223.1279 jrhine@bhfs.com
Jonathan C. Sandler Shareholder T 310.564.8672 jsandler@bhfs.com
Lauren E. Schmidt Shareholder T 303.223.1207 lschmidt@bhfs.com
Michael P. Smith Associate T 303.223.1150 msmith@bhfs.com
Ronda L. Sandquist Shareholder T 303.223.1191 rsandquist@bhfs.com
Robert J. Saperstein Shareholder T 805.882.1417 rsaperstein@bhfs.com
Ryan A. Smith Shareholder T 202.747.0507 rsmith@bhfs.com
Susan F. Petrovich Shareholder T 805.882.1405 spetrovich@bhfs.com
Steven O. Sims Shareholder T 303.223.1149 ssims@bhfs.com
Scott S. Slater Shareholder T 310.500.4600 sslater@bhfs.com
Carolynne C. White Shareholder T 303.223.1197 cwhite@bhfs.com
Lawrence W. Treece Shareholder T 303.223.1257 ltreece@bhfs.com
Ryan Waterman Shareholder T 619.702.7569 rwaterman@bhfs.com
Kemper R. Chafin Paralegal T 303.223.1353 kchafin@bhfs.com
Kara Kenfield Paralegal T 303.223.1485 kkenfield@bhfs.com
Margaret H. Cawthra Paralegal T 303.223.1358 mcawthra@bhfs.com
Patricia L. Davis Paralegal T 303.223.1344 pdavis@bhfs.com
Shirley M. Newman Paralegal T 303.223.1376 snewman@bhfs.com
Jon Hrobsky Policy Director T 202.872.5294 jhrobsky@bhfs.com
Luke D. Johnson Policy Director T 202.747.0513 ldjohnson@bhfs.com