Public Agency - Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

As population centers grow and infrastructure needs change, the public sector faces a growing need for top-quality legal representation. To aid public agencies in their mission to provide the best service possible for their citizens, Brownstein has a seasoned multidisciplinary team experienced in the full range of legal issues that public agencies must address. 

We’re known for being creative problem solvers with the ability to tackle complex issues in a cost-efficient manner. We approach our clients’ concerns using customized teams based on their experience with the particular issue at stake. We also understand the financial constraints under which many public agencies must operate.

Our Public Agency Group includes attorneys with broad experience representing public agencies in general counsel, transactional and litigation matters. We serve as counsel to public agencies throughout the West, both as general counsel on a full range of public policy issues, and as special counsel on particular transactions and litigation. Our clients include cities, counties, redevelopment authorities, regional agencies and special districts that provide utility services.

The group has a particular proficiency with public infrastructure projects. These projects are often tangled in the regulatory requirements imposed by other agencies at the federal, state and local levels, such as the California Coastal Commission or the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. When necessary, we call upon resources from our Government Relations Department to assist with public policy, lobbying and regulatory counsel, as well as our in-house professional staff that includes experienced land use planners. 

Representative Matters
  • Drafted special legislation on behalf a major California city to provide concrete authority for it to utilize a public-private partnership (P3) for development of a civic center project.

  • Serves as General Counsel to the Goleta West Sanitary District, a public agency that provides wastewater collection and treatment services to 6000 customers in the Goleta Valley. Brownstein provides the District with advice on public agency operations, including meeting procedures, Brown Act compliance, conflict of interest issues, personnel, and public facility contracting. Brownstein attorneys also draft ordinances and resolutions and negotiate on behalf of the District with other local public agencies, including the University of California, Santa Barbara and the County of Santa Barbara.

  • Advised a major California city on the development of a new city center project for its municipal offices and related public facilities utilizing a public-private partnership model. Worked closely with development and financial consultants to develop a framework that responded to the city’s cost constraints and overcame tax hurdles to meet the city’s goals and timing. Services included development of performance criteria, request for proposal and selection of the preferred proposer.

Meet The Team

Peter N. Brown Shareholder T 805.882.1401 pbrown@bhfs.com
Steven A. Amerikaner Shareholder T 805.882.1407 samerikaner@bhfs.com
Amy M. Steinfeld Shareholder T 805.882.1409 asteinfeld@bhfs.com
Bradley J. Herrema Shareholder T 310.500.4609 bherrema@bhfs.com
Gary M. Kvistad Shareholder T 805.882.1414 gkvistad@bhfs.com
Beth Collins-Burgard Shareholder T 805.882.1419 bcollins@bhfs.com
Alicia Harrison Senior Land Use Project Manager T 805.882.1442 aharrison@bhfs.com
Patsy Stadelman Price Senior Land Use Project Manager T 805.882.1424 pprice@bhfs.com
Dylan K. Johnson Associate T 805.882.1413 djohnson@bhfs.com
Hillary H. Steenberge Associate T 805.882.1432 hsteenberge@bhfs.com
Melinda R. Hart Paralegal T 805.882.1435 mhart@bhfs.com