Public Lands - Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

From water usage to mineral leasing, responsible stewardship of our public lands needs to be well grounded in legal strategy. The nation’s vast expanse of public lands presents an array of challenges and opportunities. Multiple federal and state agencies have jurisdiction over the lands and resources in the public domain, and the legal structure surrounding these areas can be exceedingly complex. At the same time, public land dealings involve maintaining goodwill among both the government and general public.

Brownstein’s Public Lands Group helps commercial and residential interests effectively navigate the often confusing legal and policy framework surrounding public lands. Our experienced team of attorneys has a focused proficiency in dealing with the complicated overlay of management statutes, environmental laws and agency regulations governing public lands to our representation of environmental groups, municipalities, government agencies and private companies.

Our team has worked on a broad array of advisory, administrative proceeding and litigation matters concerning ski area permitting, water project planning and operation, hydroelectric power generation, oil and gas leasing, timber sales, grazing rights, land exchanges, protective designations and land use planning on federal and state lands. Group members have significant experience working with numerous federal laws governing activities on public lands, including the Antiquities Act, Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act, Endangered Species Act, Federal Land Policy and Management Act, Multiple Use-Sustained Yield Act, National Environmental Policy Act, National Forest Management Act, and Wilderness Act, among others.

Meet The Team

David Longly Bernhardt Shareholder T 202.296.7353 dbernhardt@bhfs.com
Scott S. Slater Shareholder T 310.500.4600 sslater@bhfs.com
Wayne F. Forman Shareholder T 303.223.1120 wforman@bhfs.com
Bradley J. Herrema Shareholder T 310.500.4609 bherrema@bhfs.com
Amy M. Steinfeld Shareholder T 805.882.1409 asteinfeld@bhfs.com
John A. Helfrich Of Counsel T 303.223.1206 jhelfrich@bhfs.com
Dulcinea Z. Hanuschak Shareholder T 303.223.1184 dhanuschak@bhfs.com
Lawrence J. Jensen Shareholder T 202.747.0509 ljensen@bhfs.com
William J. McGrath Shareholder T 202.383.4703 wmcgrath@bhfs.com
Robert J. Saperstein Shareholder T 805.882.1417 rsaperstein@bhfs.com