Brownstein

Wyoming 2022 Midterm Election Results and Analysis

BROWNSTEIN CLIENT ALERT, NOVEMBER 10, 2022

The Wyoming general election was held on Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022. As expected, Republicans prevailed and continue to hold all statewide constitutional offices, control of the legislature and the sole U.S. House of Representatives seat. In the August primary, Liz Cheney lost her reelection bid to Harriet Hageman who prevailed over Democrat challenger Lynnette Greybull with more than double the votes.

During redistricting three additional seats were added to the existing 90, one Senate seat and two House seats, for a new total of 93 legislators.

Wyoming Executive Offices

- Governor: Mark Gordon (R) defeated challenger Theresa Livingston (D) 143,664 to 30,676 votes
- Secretary of State: Chuck Gray had no challenger in the general after defeating Tara Nethercott in the primary
- State Auditor: Incumbent Kristi Racines had no general election challenger
- State Treasurer: Incumbent Curt Meier had no general election challenger
- Superintendent of Public Instruction: Megan Degenfelder (R) defeated Sergio Maldonado (D) 142,511 to 43,251 votes

Wyoming State Legislature

WYOMING STATE SENATE

Heading into the election, Republicans controlled the state Senate by a 28-2 margin. On Tuesday, a total of 15 of the 30 Senate seats were up for election, plus the additional seat added during redistricting. Republicans will maintain their majority with a 29-2 margin. The Senate will have five new senators, one who crossed over from the House, and will maintain a strong level of institutional knowledge with a total of 26 returning senators.

SD 1	Ogden Driskill* (R)	
SD 3	Cheri Steinmetz* (R)	
SD 5	Lynn Hutchings* (R) defeated challenger Ted Hanlon (D)	

SD 7	Stephan Pappas* (R) defeated challenger Marcie Kindred (D)		
SD 9	Chris Rothfuss* (D) defeated challenger Diana Seabeck (R)		
SD 11	Larry Hicks (R) defeated Michael Ray Williams (C)		
SD 13	Stacy Jones (R) defeated Leesa Kuhlmann (D)		
SD 15	Wendy Davis Schuler (R)		
SD 17	Mike Gierau* (D) defeated challenger Steve Duerr (R)		
SD 19	Dan Laursen* (R)		
SD 21	Bo Biteman* (R) defeated challenger Mark Hansen (D)		
SD 23	Eric Barlow* (R) defeated challenger Patricia Junek (I)		
SD 25	Cale Case* (R)		
SD 27	Bill Landen* (R)		
SD 29	Bob Ide (R)		
SD 31	Evie Brennan (R)		

^{*}denotes and incumbent

WYOMING STATE HOUSE

Every cycle all House districts are up for election, and following this election, Republicans will maintain control of the Wyoming House with a 57-5 majority. The seats previously held by the lone Independent and Libertarian were both flipped to Republican. There will also be substantial turnover with only 33 of the prior representatives returning.

HD 1	Chip Neiman* (R)
HD 2	Allen Slagle (R)
HD 3	Abby Angelos (R)

HD 4	Jeremy Haroldson (R) defeated Dan Brecht (I)			
HD 5	Scott Smith (R) defeated Todd Peterson (I)			
HD 6	Tomi Strock (R) defeated Hank Szramkowski (D) and Bruce Jones (I)			
HD 7	Bob Nicholas* (R) defeated Jordan Evans (D)			
HD 8	David Zwonitzer (R) defeated Brenda Lyttle (D)			
HD 9	Landon Brown* (R) defeated Stephen Latham (D)			
HD 10	John Eklund Jr.* (R)			
HD 11	Jared Olsen* (R) defeated Marguerite Herman (D)			
HD 12	Clarence Styvar* (R)			
HD 13	Ken Chestek (D) defeated Wayne Pinch (R)			
HD 14	Trey Sherwood* (D) defeated Bryan Shuster (R)			
HD 15	Donald Burkhart* (R) defeated Patrick Gonzales (L)			
HD 16	Mike Yin* (D) defeated Jim McCollum (R)			
HD 17	J.T. Larson (R) defeated Chad Banks (D)			
HD 18	Scott Heiner (R) defeated Dennis Laughlin (L)			
HD 19	Jon Conrad (R) defeated Sarah Butters (D)			
HD 20	Albert Sommers (R)			
HD 21	Lane Allred (R)			
HD 22	Andrew Byron (R) defeated Bob Strobel (I)			
HD 23	Liz Storer (D) defeated Paul Vogelheim (R)			

HD 24	Sandy Newsome (R)			
HD 25	David Northrup (R)			
HD 26	Dalton Banks (R)			
HD 27	Martha Lawley (R)			
HD 28	John Winter (R) defeated Kimberly Bartlett (D)			
HD 29	Ken Pendergraft (R) defeated Martha Wright (D)			
HD 30	Mark Jennings (R)			
HD 31	John Bear (R)			
HD 32	Ken Clouston (R)			
HD 33	Sarah Penn (R) defeated Andi LeBeau (D)			
HD 34	Pepper Ottman (R)			
HD 35	Tony Locke (R)			
HD 36	Art Washut (R)			
HD 37	Steve Harshman (R)			
HD 38	Tom Walters (R)			
HD 39	Cody Wylie (R) defeated Marshall Burt (L)			
HD 40	Barry Crago (R)			
HD 41	Bill Henderson (R) defeated Jen Solis (D) and Matt Freeman (C)			
HD 42	Ben Hornok (R)			
HD 43	Dan Zwonitzer (R)			

HD 44	Tamara Trujillo (R) defeated Sara Burlingame (D)			
HD 45	Karlee Provenza (D)			
HD 46	Ocean Andrew (R) defeated Merav Ben-David (D)			
HD 47	Bob David (R) defeated Lee Ann Stephenson (D)			
HD 48	Clark Stith (R) defeated Misty Morris (D)			
HD 49	Ryan Berger (R) defeated Tim Beppler (D)			
HD 50	Rachel Rodriguez-Williams (R) defeated Carrie Satterwhite (L)			
HD 51	Cyrus Western (R)			
HD 52	Rueben Tarver (R)			
HD 53	Christopher Knapp (R) defeated Larry Williamson (C)			
HD 54	Lloyd Larsen (R) defeated Jeff Martin (I)			
HD 55	Ember Oakley (R) defeated Bethany Baldes (L)			
HD 56	Jerry Obermueller (R)			
HD 57	Jeanette Ward (R) defeated Robert Johnson (D)			
HD 58	Bill Allemand (R)			
HD 59	Kevin O'Hearn (R)			
HD 60	Tony Niemiec (R)			
HD 61	Daniel Singh (R)			
HD 62	Forrest Chadwick (R)			

Statewide Ballot Initiatives

TITLE	DESCRIPTION	OUTCOME
Constitutional Amendment A	Allows local governments to invest in stocks and equities upon a two-thirds supermajority vote of the state legislature	Passed For: 103,366 Against: 78,697
Constitutional Amendment B	Increases the judicial retirement age from 70 to 75 for state supreme court justices and district court judges	Failed For: 74,633 Against: 115,812

THIS DOCUMENT IS INTENDED TO PROVIDE YOU WITH GENERAL INFORMATION REGARDING THE 2022 MIDTERM ELECTION RESULTS IN WYOMING. THE CONTENTS OF THIS DOCUMENT ARE NOT INTENDED TO PROVIDE SPECIFIC LEGAL ADVICE. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT THE CONTENTS OF THIS DOCUMENT OR IF YOU NEED LEGAL ADVICE AS TO AN ISSUE, PLEASE CONTACT THE ATTORNEYS LISTED OR YOUR REGULAR BROWNSTEIN HYATT FARBER SCHRECK, LLP ATTORNEY. THIS COMMUNICATION MAY BE CONSIDERED ADVERTISING IN SOME JURISDICTIONS.