Immigration Reform in the 113th Congress

Immigration Reform in the 113th Congress

Mar 13, 2013

Article

Brownstein Client Alert, March 13, 2013

In 2007, when a bipartisan group of senators and then President Bush tried to pass major immigration reform legislation, vocal opposition to the effort doomed the bill and any real attempt at reform since. The 2012 election changed all this. For whatever the reason, whether based on the 70 percent of Latino voters who supported President Obama, or because some people sincerely want to improve immigration policies, or both, immigration reform has become a top priority for congressional Republicans, Democrats and the White House. Many businesses recognize, or have begun to recognize, the potential effect proposed reforms will have on their bottom line. As a result, all kinds of businesses are now becoming interested in engaging key members of Congress and the administration to make sure any such efforts are good for the nation and do no harm, that is, are good for their businesses as well. Last year alone, the number of organizations lobbying on immigration issues grew by 12 percent, with a sharp increase in advocacy expected during the first quarter of 2013.

Click above to read the entire article.

Meet The Team

David P. Cohen Shareholder T 202.872.5286 dcohen@bhfs.com
Barry Jackson Strategic Advisor T 202.652.2342 bjackson@bhfs.com
Marc S. Lampkin Shareholder T 202.652.2341 mlampkin@bhfs.com
Elizabeth A. Maier Policy Director T 202.872.5299 emaier@bhfs.com
William E. Moschella Shareholder T 202.652.2346 wmoschella@bhfs.com
Alfred E. Mottur Shareholder T 202.872.5284 amottur@bhfs.com