Republicans Won Control of the U.S. Senate—Now What?

Republicans Won Control of the U.S. Senate—Now What?

Nov 06, 2014

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, November 6, 2014

Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck’s strong Republican bicameral team is ready for the new Congress. Our team is paying close attention to the results of the recent elections and the likely impact on both immediate and long-term issues of significance to our clients. To help you navigate the changing landscape in Washington, D.C., we have compiled Brownstein’s Washington Outlook as a resource. Click on above pdf to read.

Some of the top issues we foresee include:

  • Upcoming committee assignments and chairmanship selection;
  • A potential slowdown on judicial confirmations;
  • The looming effect of 2016 on congressional oversight and the Republican Party’s approach to accountability;
  • Legislative priorities, likely including the Keystone XL Pipeline; trade negotiating authority; corporate tax reform; individual tax simplification; annual government spending bills coupled with a plan for raising the debt limit; non-comprehensive immigration reform (i.e., high-tech, agriculture, low-skill visas), as well as possible changes to E-Verify and EB-5 immigration issues; and various Obamacare “fixes.”

Please see below for a list of Brownstein’s team members with experience in Republican politics. Our team includes a former chairman of the Republican National Committee and former staff to Republican leadership, including House Speaker John Boehner’s (R-Ohio) former chief of staff, Sen. Orrin Hatch’s (R-Utah) former chief counsel at the Senate Judiciary Committee and Sen. Jon Kyl’s (R-AZ) former legislative director, as well as a deep bench of lobbyists and lawyers with years of experience working in politics.

Meet The Team

David P. Cohen Shareholder T 202.872.5286 dcohen@bhfs.com
Kenneth Khachigian Senior Partner T 949.498.3879 kkhachigian@bhfs.com
Marc S. Lampkin Shareholder T 202.652.2341 mlampkin@bhfs.com
William E. Moschella Shareholder T 202.652.2346 wmoschella@bhfs.com
R. James Nicholson Senior Counsel T 202.652.2344 jnicholson@bhfs.com
Hal Stratton Shareholder T 505.724.9596 hstratton@bhfs.com
Barry Jackson Strategic Advisor T 202.652.2342 bjackson@bhfs.com
Elizabeth A. Maier Policy Director T 202.872.5299 emaier@bhfs.com
Judy A. Black Strategic Consulting Advisor T 202.872.5285 jblack@bhfs.com
Jon Hrobsky Policy Director T 202.872.5294 jhrobsky@bhfs.com
Luke D. Johnson Policy Director T 202.747.0513 ldjohnson@bhfs.com