Kokesh May Lead to Lower Monetary Sanctions in SEC Enforcement Proceedings

Kokesh May Lead to Lower Monetary Sanctions in SEC Enforcement Proceedings

Jun 21, 2017

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, June 21, 2017

The U.S. Supreme Court’s recent decision in Kokesh v. SEC provides the defense bar with significant ammunition to argue for lower monetary sanctions in securities enforcement matters pending in federal district courts. In fact, the Supreme Court’s decision may signal that the Securities and Exchange Commission’s disgorgement remedy is ripe for more aggressive defense challenges in the coming years. Since 1971, the SEC has used its disgorgement remedy to collect ill-gotten gains with interest from defendants for securities law violations.

To read the full alert, please click the PDF above.

Meet The Team

John V. McDermott Shareholder T 303.223.1118 jmcdermott@bhfs.com
Thomas J. Krysa Shareholder T 303.223.1270 tkrysa@bhfs.com
Lawrence W. Treece Shareholder T 303.223.1257 ltreece@bhfs.com
Jonathan C. Sandler Shareholder T 310.564.8672 jsandler@bhfs.com
Carrie E. Johnson Shareholder T 303.223.1198 cjohnson@bhfs.com
Maximilien D. Fetaz Associate T 702.464.7083 mfetaz@bhfs.com
Emily R. Garnett Associate T 303.223.1171 egarnett@bhfs.com
David B. Meschke Associate T 303.223.1219 dmeschke@bhfs.com
Joshua A. Weiss Associate T 303-223-1268 jweiss@bhfs.com