Policy Predictions and Key Positions for a Biden Administration

Policy Predictions and Key Positions for a Biden Administration

Sep 18, 2020

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, September 18, 2020

The election is fewer than 50 days away and the polls show a strong possibility of a shift in partisan power dynamics in Washington, D.C., come 2021. Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck’s Government Relations practice has put together the following election materials to better understand the inner workings of a potential Biden administration, as well as the risks and opportunities it presents to various industries. The materials also outline the likely policy agendas following a Democratic sweep.

  1. Biden’s Policy Proposals: This PowerPoint deck outlines Biden’s policy positions in the following key areas:
    1. Tax
    2. Financial Services
    3. Health Care
    4. Benefits
    5. Education
    6. Minimum Wage
    7. Small Business
    8. Trade
    9. Environment
    10. Infrastructure
       
  2. A Democratic Sweep: This PowerPoint deck outlines Democratic legislative priorities in the event Democrats take control of the House, Senate and the White House. Though the deck focuses on tax aspects of various issue areas, it also discusses the dynamics of potential Budget Reconciliation legislation.
     
  3. Key Positions Memo: An outline of who could potentially fill various senior staff, cabinet and other key agency positions.

Given the constantly evolving nature of the subject, these materials are speculative and will be updated to reflect changes in policy and analysis.

This document is intended to provide you with general information regarding policy predictions for a potential Biden administration. The contents of this document are not intended to provide specific legal advice. If you have any questions about the contents of this document or if you need legal advice as to an issue, please contact the attorneys listed or your regular Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP attorney. This communication may be considered advertising in some jurisdictions. The information in this article is accurate as of the publication date. Because the law in this area is changing rapidly, and insights are not automatically updated, continued accuracy cannot be guaranteed.

Meet The Team

Russell W. Sullivan Shareholder T 202.383.4423 rsullivan@bhfs.com
Harold Hancock Shareholder T 202.383.4422 hhancock@bhfs.com
Nadeam A. Elshami Policy Director T 202.383.4426 nelshami@bhfs.com
David H. Reid Senior Policy Advisor T 202.652.2347 dreid@bhfs.com
Charlie A. Iovino Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4424 ciovino@bhfs.com
Radha Mohan Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.383.4425 rmohan@bhfs.com
Annmarie Conboy-DePasquale Policy Assistant T 202.216.4865 aconboy-depasquale@bhfs.com
Daniel Joseph Policy Advisor T 202.216.4864 djoseph@bhfs.com
Timothy Jackson Policy Assistant T 202.747.0518 tjackson@bhfs.com
Micaela Arneson Contract Policy Assistant T 202.747.0512 marneson@bhfs.com
Michael P. Marn Policy Assistant T 202.652.2355 mmarn@bhfs.com
Sage Schaftel Policy Assistant T 202.383.4716 sschaftel@bhfs.com