Tax Policy Trends: What Democratic, Republican and Divided Control of Washington Could Bring in 2021

Tax Policy Trends: What Democratic, Republican and Divided Control of Washington Could Bring in 2021

Oct 06, 2020

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, October 2, 2020

With Election Day barely a month away, Brownstein’s National Tax Policy Team has compiled an analysis on the policy implications of various outcomes. The slides found here outlines tax-related legislative priorities in the event that the:

  • Democrats control both the legislative and executive branch post-Election Day.
  • Republicans control both the legislative and executive branch post-Election Day.
  • Election ends in divided government.

It also discusses how the process of passing legislation through Budget Reconciliation might potentially unfold in the event of a Democratic or Republican sweep.

Brownstein’s bipartisan team is assessing the potential opportunities and risks associated with expected legislative movement and working alongside clients to develop their 2021 strategies. Regardless of the election’s outcome, expect an incoming government raring to govern. Preparation for any eventuality is key.

Click here for our full analysis. 

Meet The Team

Annmarie Conboy-DePasquale Policy Assistant T 202.216.4865 aconboy-depasquale@bhfs.com
Harold Hancock Shareholder T 202.383.4422 hhancock@bhfs.com
Charlie A. Iovino Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4424 ciovino@bhfs.com
Daniel Joseph Policy Advisor T 202.216.4864 djoseph@bhfs.com
Michael P. Marn Policy Assistant T 202.652.2355 mmarn@bhfs.com
Radha Mohan Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.383.4425 rmohan@bhfs.com
Russell W. Sullivan Shareholder T 202.383.4423 rsullivan@bhfs.com