Treasury, IRS Publish Payroll Tax Deferral Guidance

Treasury, IRS Publish Payroll Tax Deferral Guidance

Aug 28, 2020

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, August 28, 2020

This evening, the Treasury Department and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) issued guidance (Notice 2020-65) implementing President Trump’s Aug. 8, 2020 presidential memorandum allowing the deferral of withholding, deposit and payment of payroll tax obligations.

Today’s guidance clarifies that employers may defer withholding and payment of employees’ portion of the Social Security tax if the wages are below $4,000 per bi-weekly pay period. As a result, under the guidance, the employer may defer the taxes during one bi-weekly pay period, but does not need to do so for the next bi-weekly pay period, if wages are not under the $4,000 threshold.

The employer must repay these taxes next year between Jan. 1, 2021 and April 30, 2021. Employers are able to make arrangements to collect the taxes ratably over four months from employees, or make alternative arrangements.

The notice does not address several outstanding questions including the interaction of payroll tax withholding with the Employee Retention Tax Credit.

Brownstein’s analysis on President Trump’s executive directives, which has been updated to include information on the notice, can be accessed here.

Meet The Team

Rosemary Becchi Strategic Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4421 rbecchi@bhfs.com
Harold Hancock Shareholder T 202.383.4422 hhancock@bhfs.com
Lori Harju Policy Director T 202.747.0519 lharju@bhfs.com
Charlie A. Iovino Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4424 ciovino@bhfs.com
Gregory M. Janssen Associate T 303.223.1288 gjanssen@bhfs.com
Daniel Joseph Policy Advisor T 202.216.4864 djoseph@bhfs.com
Anne C. Starke Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.872.5297 astarke@bhfs.com
Russell W. Sullivan Shareholder T 202.383.4423 rsullivan@bhfs.com
Michael P. Marn Policy Assistant T 202.652.2355 mmarn@bhfs.com
Radha Mohan Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.383.4425 rmohan@bhfs.com