Building Back Better

Building Back Better

Apr 20, 2021

Client Alert

Contributor, Brownstein Client Alert

Congress recently voted on a $1.9 trillion COVID-19 stimulus package—the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA, P.L.117-2). It includes stimulus checks for individuals, expanded unemployment benefits, and funding for vaccines, state and local governments, schools and child care. The ARPA marks a huge win for the Biden administration during its first 50 days in office.

Before the ink is dry, the administration has already pivoted to the second phase of the Biden agenda: Build Back Better. While ARPA was largely a relief bill, the next phase will be about rebuilding the economy, starting with a multitrillion-dollar plan that includes infrastructure, green energy and incentives to bolster domestic manufacturing. It will also build upon the individual relief provided in the first bill and seek to make those provisions permanent and will likely be paid for by corporate tax rate increases, a repeal of oil and gas tax breaks and increases in taxes on the wealthy.

As discussions progress, this weekly newsletter will summarize the latest developments on the Build Back Better agenda and provide intel from discussions on Capitol Hill and the Biden administration, giving our readers insight on the latest state of play on the next package.

Building Back Better, April 20, 2021 

Building Back Better, April 13, 2021

Building Back Better, March 30, 2021

Building Back Better, March 23, 2021

Meet The Team

Rosemary Becchi Strategic Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4421 rbecchi@bhfs.com
Annmarie Conboy-DePasquale Policy Analyst T 202.216.4865 aconboy-depasquale@bhfs.com
Reese Goldsmith Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.747.0505 rgoldsmith@bhfs.com
Harold Hancock Shareholder T 202.383.4422 hhancock@bhfs.com
Lori Harju Policy Director T 202.747.0519 lharju@bhfs.com
Charlie A. Iovino Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4424 ciovino@bhfs.com
Gregory M. Janssen Associate T 303.223.1288 gjanssen@bhfs.com
William J. McGrath Shareholder T 202.383.4703 wmcgrath@bhfs.com
Russell W. Sullivan Shareholder T 202.383.4423 rsullivan@bhfs.com
Timothy Jackson Policy Analyst T 202.747.0518 tjackson@bhfs.com
Michael P. Marn Policy Analyst T 202.652.2355 mmarn@bhfs.com
Radha Mohan Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4425 rmohan@bhfs.com
Loading...