Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck Attorneys Named to “Best Lawyers In America”

Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck Attorneys Named to “Best Lawyers In America”

Fifty-one attorneys from Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck were selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2013 edition of The Best Lawyers in America, the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession. Attorneys from seven offices were recognized in 38 different categories ranging from bet-the-company litigation and corporate law to government relations practice and water law.

The following attorneys from Brownstein’s Albuquerque office were selected: Perry E. Bendicksen III, banking and finance law, corporate law, leveraged buyouts and private equity law, mergers and acquisitions law, and public finance law; David P. Buchholtz, banking and finance law, corporate law, mergers and acquisitions law, municipal law, and public finance law; Bonnie J. Paisley, corporate law, mergers and acquisitions law, and securities/capital markets law; Jill K. Sweeney, public finance law; and Timothy R. Van Valen, tax law, and litigation and controversy – tax. Bendicksen and Buchholtz each have been listed in Best Lawyers for more than 15 years.

Attorneys recognized the firm’s Denver office included: Steven E. Abelman, litigation - bankruptcy; Edward N. Barad, real estate law; Gregory W. Berger, tax law; William C. Berger, employment law – management; Norman Brownstein, government relations practice; Steven W. Farber, corporate law; Hubert A. Farbes, litigation – construction; Michael F. Feeley, government relations practice; Catherine C. Gale, real estate law; Neil M. Goff, tax law; Lisa Hogan, litigation – labor and employment; Bruce A. James, real estate law; Robert Kaufmann, real estate law; Mark F. Leonard, family law; John V. McDermott, commercial litigation, litigation – banking and finance, litigation – mergers and acquisitions, litigation – securities, and securities regulation; Lynda A. McNeive, real estate law; Michael J. Pankow, banking and finance law, and bankruptcy and creditor debtor rights law/insolvency and reorganization law; James A. Pinto, patent law; Steven O. Sims, water law; Steven M. Sommers, real estate law; Nancy A. Strelau, Employee Benefits (ERISA) law; Ana Lazo Tenzer, real estate law; Lawrence W. Treece, bet-the-company litigation, commercial litigation, litigation – antitrust, and litigation – securities; and Carolynne C. White, land use and zoning law, and real estate law. Both Goff and Leonard have been listed in Best Lawyers for more than 15 years.

The following attorneys from Brownstein’s Las Vegas office were selected: David R. Arrajj, gaming law; Andrew S. Brignone, litigation – ERISA; Albert Z. Kovacs, business organizations including LLCs and partnerships, corporate law, and mergers and acquisitions law; Kirk B. Lenhard, bet-the company litigation and commercial litigation; Angela Turriciano Otto, real estate law; Frank A. Schreck, gaming law; Ellen Schulhofer, corporate law; Adam P. Segal, litigation – ERISA; and Sonia Church Vermeys, corporate law. Both Lenhard and Brignone have been listed in Best Lawyers for more than 15 years.

Attorneys recognized from the firm’s Los Angeles office included: Deborah Drooz, litigation – first amendment; Barry Langberg, litigation - first amendment; and Scott S. Slater, water law.

The following attorneys from Brownstein’s Phoenix office were selected: Jeffrey W. Crockett, communications law, energy law and water law; Janna B. Day, government relations practice; Michael Preston Green, government relations practice; Carlos D. Ronstadt, energy law, mining law, natural resources law and water law; John C. West, commercial litigation and health care law. Ronstadt has been listed in Best Lawyers for more than 15 years.

Attorneys from the firm’s Santa Barbara office included: Steven A. Amerikaner, land use and zoning law, natural resources law and real estate law; Christopher A. Jacobs, real estate law; Barry Langberg, litigation - first amendment; and Robert J. Saperstein, water law.

Additionally, in Washington, D.C., Stephen A. Best was recognized in the criminal defense: white-collar category.

Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which tens of thousands of leading attorneys cast almost
3.9 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

Meet The Team

Steven E. Abelman Shareholder T 303.223.1102 sabelman@bhfs.com
Steven A. Amerikaner Shareholder T 805.882.1407 samerikaner@bhfs.com
David R. Arrajj Shareholder T 702.464.7053 darrajj@bhfs.com
Edward N. Barad Shareholder T 303.223.1108 ebarad@bhfs.com
Gregory W. Berger Shareholder T 303.223.1158 gberger@bhfs.com
Andrew S. Brignone Shareholder T 702.464.7006 abrignone@bhfs.com
Norman Brownstein Shareholder T 303.223.1101 nbrownstein@bhfs.com
Hubert A. Farbes, Jr. Shareholder T 303.223.1186 hfarbes@bhfs.com
Michael F. Feeley Shareholder T 303.223.1237 mfeeley@bhfs.com
Steven W. Farber Shareholder T 303.223.1109 sfarber@bhfs.com
Albert Z. Kovacs Shareholder T 702.464.7076 akovacs@bhfs.com
Bruce A. James Shareholder T 303.223.1167 bjames@bhfs.com
Christopher A. Jacobs Shareholder T 805.882.1412 cjacobs@bhfs.com
Lisa Hogan Shareholder T 303.223.1185 lhogan@bhfs.com
Rob Kaufmann Shareholder T 303.223.1176 rkaufmann@bhfs.com
Angela Turriciano Otto Shareholder T 702.464.7064 aotto@bhfs.com
John V. McDermott Shareholder T 303.223.1118 jmcdermott@bhfs.com
Kirk B. Lenhard Shareholder T 702.464.7045 klenhard@bhfs.com
Mark F. Leonard Shareholder T 303.223.1128 mleonard@bhfs.com
Adam P. Segal Shareholder T 702.464.7001 asegal@bhfs.com
Ellen Schulhofer Shareholder T 702.464.7059 eschulhofer@bhfs.com
Frank A. Schreck Shareholder T 702.382.2101 fschreck@bhfs.com
Michael J. Pankow Shareholder T 303.223.1106 mpankow@bhfs.com
Nancy A. Strelau Shareholder T 303.223.1151 nstrelau@bhfs.com
Robert J. Saperstein Shareholder T 805.882.1417 rsaperstein@bhfs.com
Steven O. Sims Shareholder T 303.223.1149 ssims@bhfs.com
Scott S. Slater Shareholder T 310.500.4600 sslater@bhfs.com
Ana Lazo Tenzer Shareholder T 303.223.1156 altenzer@bhfs.com
Carolynne C. White Shareholder T 303.223.1197 cwhite@bhfs.com
Lawrence W. Treece Shareholder T 303.223.1257 ltreece@bhfs.com
Sonia Church Vermeys Of Counsel T 702.464.7066 svermeys@bhfs.com