Announcing the 2018 Mark F. Leonard Award Recipient

Announcing the 2018 Mark F. Leonard Award Recipient

In 2016, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck introduced the Mark F. Leonard Award to annually recognize one employee who embodies the firm’s core values—All In, Excellence, Respect and Giving Back—and inspires this behavior in others.

Brownstein is pleased to announce that Ellen Schulhofer is the recipient of the 2018 Mark F. Leonard Award.

“Probably the highlight of my legal career was having this award named for me,” said Mark in a video highlighting Ellen’s accomplishments. “I can guarantee that this year’s winner embodies all of the firm’s core values. It’s truly to be admired.”

Ellen Schulhofer is a shareholder in the firm’s Las Vegas office and has served as managing partner of the Las Vegas office since 2007. As a member of the firm’s Executive Committee and former co-managing partner of the firm, Ellen has gained extensive leadership and strategic counseling experience which, together with her calm and pragmatic approach, is invaluable to her business and corporate advisory practice.

Ellen was recognized with the Mark F. Leonard Award at a firmwide town hall on Nov. 12. Shareholder Mark Leonard, who was honored with the inaugural award and serves as its namesake, and Managing Partner Adam Agron presented Ellen with the award.

“She’s clearly extraordinarily smart and cares a ton about this firm. She embodies our values in everything she does,” said Adam in the video. “ Before I bother her with a phone call, I just think to myself what would Ellen do. And that’s almost always the right answer. In fact, I think it always is the right answer.”

“When she’s in management and when she’s just in the firm, she’s always been so gracious,” said Frank Schreck, one of the firm’s founders. “She’s been really one of the most important people in my professional life. I couldn’t do what I did without her. There is no one more worthy than Ellen is for this award.”

This year, the Mark F. Leonard Award committee received 13 nominations from across the firm with some individuals receiving multiple nominations. Here is the full list of those nominated: Adam Agron, Jan Alabart, Amy Bennett, Nikki Caravantes, Justin Cohen, Nancy Crawford, Susie Griffin, Mike King, Larry McDonald, Lyn Moore, Paul O’Gara, Zach Pfister and Ellen Schulhofer.

Watch the video below to learn more about why Ellen is so deserving of this award.


Meet The Team

Ellen Schulhofer Shareholder T 702.464.7059