Brownstein Attorneys Make 2020 List of Best Lawyers in America

Brownstein Attorneys Make 2020 List of Best Lawyers in America

Fifty-seven attorneys from Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck were selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2020 edition of Best Lawyers in America, the legal profession’s oldest and most respected peer-review publication. Attorneys from eight of Brownstein’s offices were recognized in 33 different law categories ranging from bankruptcy, litigation and gaming to corporate, real estate and government relations.

Three attorneys from the firm’s Denver office received “Lawyer of the Year” recognition, including Edward N. Barad for real estate law, Michael F. Feeley for government relations practice and Carolynne C. White for land use and zoning law. Ellen L. Schulhofer received “Lawyer of the Year” recognition in the corporate law category in Las Vegas.

Attorneys from the firm’s eight offices included:

  • Steven E. Abelman, litigation - bankruptcy              
  • Adam J. Agron, corporate law, mergers and acquisitions law and securities / capital markets law
  • Nicole R. Ament, real estate law                  
  • Steven A. Amerikaner, land use and zoning law, natural resources law and real estate law
  • David R. Arrajj, gaming law             
  • Robert P. Attai, corporate law, international mergers and acquisitions and mergers and acquisitions law
  • Edward N. Barad, real estate law                
  • Richard B. Benenson, commercial litigation and mass tort litigation / class actions - defendants 
  • Gregory W. Berger, tax law             
  • Andrew S. Brignone, litigation - ERISA                  
  • Norman Brownstein, government relations practice                      
  • Eric R. Burris, product liability litigation - defendants                      
  • Sharon E. Caulfield, health care law                       
  • Sonia Church Vermeys, corporate law and gaming law    
  • Justin L. Cohen, commercial litigation                    
  • Erin M. Eiselein, litigation - health care                    
  • Steven W. Farber, corporate law                 
  • Hubert A. Farbes, commercial litigation and litigation - construction          
  • Michael F. Feeley, government relations practice               
  • Frank M. Flansburg III, commercial litigation                      
  • S. Craig Hemenway, patent law                  
  • Bradley J. Herrema, water law                    
  • Lisa Hogan, litigation - labor and employment                     
  • Aaron M. Hyatt, real estate law                    
  • Christopher A. Jacobs, real estate law                   
  • Bruce A. James, real estate law                  
  • Robert Kaufmann, real estate law               
  • Michael W. King, corporate law and health care law          
  • Jeffrey M. Knetsch, securities / capital markets law                       
  • Albert Z. Kovacs, business organizations (including LLCs and partnerships), corporate law and mergers and acquisitions law
  • Mitchell J. Langberg, First Amendment law and media law
  • Ana Lazo Tenzer, real estate law                
  • Kirk B. Lenhard, bet-the-company litigation and commercial litigation       
  • Mark F. Leonard, family law            
  • Mark J. Mathews, environmental law                      
  • Gino A. Maurelli, corporate law and mergers and acquisitions law
  • Alfred E. Mottur, communications law                    
  • Paul M. O'Gara, gaming law            
  • Stephanie Osler Hastings, water law                     
  • Michael J. Pankow, banking and finance law, bankruptcy and creditor debtor rights / insolvency and reorganization law      
  • Elizabeth D. Paulsen, corporate law                       
  • Patrick J. Reilly, commercial litigation                     
  • Michael D. Rounds, litigation - intellectual property            
  • Ronda L. Sandquist, environmental law                 
  • Robert J. Saperstein, water law                  
  • Scott Scherer, gaming law               
  • Frank A. Schreck, gaming law                     
  • Adam P. Segal, litigation - ERISA                
  • Ellen L. Schulhofer, corporate law              
  • Steven O. Sims, water law               
  • Scott S. Slater, water law                 
  • Ryan A. Smith, native American law                       
  • Nancy A. Strelau, employee benefits (ERISA) law             
  • Russell W. Sullivan, tax law            
  • Angela Turriciano Otto, real estate law      
  • Gregory A. Vallin, real estate law                
  • Carolynne C. White, land use and zoning law and real estate law 

Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which tens of thousands of leading attorneys cast almost 5.5 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

Meet The Team

Steven E. Abelman Shareholder T 303.223.1102 sabelman@bhfs.com
Adam J. Agron Shareholder T 303.223.1134 aagron@bhfs.com
Nicole R. Ament Shareholder T 303.223.1174 nament@bhfs.com
Steven A. Amerikaner Shareholder T 805.882.1407 samerikaner@bhfs.com
David R. Arrajj Shareholder T 702.464.7053 darrajj@bhfs.com
Robert P. Attai Shareholder T 303.223.1271 rattai@bhfs.com
Andrew S. Brignone Shareholder T 702.464.7006 abrignone@bhfs.com
Edward N. Barad Shareholder T 303.223.1108 ebarad@bhfs.com
Eric R. Burris Shareholder T 505.724.9563 eburris@bhfs.com
Gregory W. Berger Shareholder T 303.223.1158 gberger@bhfs.com
Richard B. Benenson Managing Partner T 303.223.1203 rbenenson@bhfs.com
Erin M. Eiselein Shareholder T 303.223.1251 eeiselein@bhfs.com
Frank M. Flansburg III Shareholder T 702.802.2205 fflansburg@bhfs.com
Hubert A. Farbes, Jr. Shareholder T 303.223.1186 hfarbes@bhfs.com
Justin L. Cohen Shareholder T 303.223.1254 jcohen@bhfs.com
Michael F. Feeley Shareholder T 303.223.1237 mfeeley@bhfs.com
Sharon E. Caulfield Shareholder T 303.223.1110 scaulfield@bhfs.com
Aaron M. Hyatt Shareholder T 303.223.1107 ahyatt@bhfs.com
Albert Z. Kovacs Shareholder T 702.464.7076 akovacs@bhfs.com
Bradley J. Herrema Shareholder T 310.500.4609 bherrema@bhfs.com
Bruce A. James Shareholder T 303.223.1167 bjames@bhfs.com
S. Craig Hemenway Shareholder T 303.223.1104 chemenway@bhfs.com
Christopher A. Jacobs Shareholder T 805.882.1412 cjacobs@bhfs.com
Jeffrey M. Knetsch Shareholder T 303.223.1160 jknetsch@bhfs.com
Lisa Hogan Shareholder T 303.223.1185 lhogan@bhfs.com
Michael W. King Shareholder T 303.223.1130 mking@bhfs.com
Rob Kaufmann Shareholder T 303.223.1176 rkaufmann@bhfs.com
Stephanie Osler Hastings Shareholder T 805.882.1415 shastings@bhfs.com
Alfred E. Mottur Shareholder T 202.872.5284 amottur@bhfs.com
Angela Turriciano Otto Shareholder T 702.464.7064 aotto@bhfs.com
Gino A. Maurelli Shareholder T 303.223.1115 gmaurelli@bhfs.com
Kirk B. Lenhard Shareholder T 702.464.7045 klenhard@bhfs.com
Mitchell J. Langberg Shareholder T 702.464.7098 mlangberg@bhfs.com
Mark F. Leonard Shareholder T 303.223.1128 mleonard@bhfs.com
Mark J. Mathews Shareholder T 303.223.1179 mmathews@bhfs.com
Paul M. O'Gara Shareholder T 609.241.0174 pogara@bhfs.com
Adam P. Segal Shareholder T 702.464.7001 asegal@bhfs.com
Elizabeth D. Paulsen Shareholder T 303.223.1187 epaulsen@bhfs.com
Ellen Schulhofer Shareholder T 702.464.7059 eschulhofer@bhfs.com
Frank A. Schreck Shareholder T 702.382.2101 fschreck@bhfs.com
Michael J. Pankow Shareholder T 303.223.1106 mpankow@bhfs.com
Michael D. Rounds Shareholder T 775.398.3800 mrounds@bhfs.com
Nancy A. Strelau Shareholder T 303.223.1151 nstrelau@bhfs.com
Patrick J. Reilly Shareholder T 702.464.7033 preilly@bhfs.com
Ronda L. Sandquist Shareholder T 303.223.1191 rsandquist@bhfs.com
Robert J. Saperstein Shareholder T 805.882.1417 rsaperstein@bhfs.com
Ryan A. Smith Shareholder T 202.747.0507 rsmith@bhfs.com
Russell W. Sullivan Shareholder T 202.383.4423 rsullivan@bhfs.com
Scott Scherer Shareholder T 775.398.3804 sscherer@bhfs.com
Steven O. Sims Shareholder T 303.223.1149 ssims@bhfs.com
Scott S. Slater Shareholder T 310.500.4600 sslater@bhfs.com
Ana Lazo Tenzer Shareholder T 303.223.1156 altenzer@bhfs.com
Carolynne C. White Shareholder T 303.223.1197 cwhite@bhfs.com
Gregory A. Vallin Shareholder T 303.223.1103 gvallin@bhfs.com
Sonia Church Vermeys Shareholder T 702.464.7066 svermeys@bhfs.com