Brownstein Announces 2020 Shareholder, Policy Director and Of Counsel Promotions

Brownstein Announces 2020 Shareholder, Policy Director and Of Counsel Promotions

Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck is pleased to announce 10 promotions effective Jan. 1, 2020. Matthew Arentsen, Anna-Liisa Mullis, Charles J. Smith, Kevin P. Walsh and Jacob P. Whitted in Denver will become shareholders. Brian M. McKeon and Sarah Walters will become shareholders in Washington, D.C., and Maximilien D. Fetaz will become a shareholder in Las Vegas. Doug M. Maguire in Washington, D.C., will become a policy director. Peter J. Nagle in Denver will become of counsel.
Founded in 1968, Brownstein practices in the areas of corporate, litigation, natural resources, public policy and real estate. With more than 275 attorneys and legislative consultants in offices across the western U.S. and in Washington, D.C., and Atlantic City, the firm works in industries ranging from health care, real estate, hospitality, private equity and telecommunications, to technology, construction, energy, banking and finance, water and gaming.

Matthew Arentsen, a member of the firm’s Litigation Department, focuses his practice on consumer law compliance and defense—with a particular emphasis on the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and investigations by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) and state attorneys general. He also regularly defends companies in class actions involving a myriad of other consumer protection laws, including the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) and state unfair and deceptive acts and practices (UDAP) statutes.

Practicing in the firm’s Litigation Department, Anna-Liisa Mullis specializes in serving clients in the health care industry and is adept at analyzing and resolving the unique litigation challenges that come with working in that industry. Drawing on her background representing health care organizations and professionals in a variety of matters before trial and appellate courts, as well as in private arbitration, she strategizes with clients to resolve complex disputes.

Charles J. Smith, a member of the firm’s Real Estate Department, brings a strong background in business and politics that allows him to provide forward-thinking legal advice to advance his clients’ strategic interests. His practice expertise around commercial real estate includes acquisitions, dispositions, leasing, land use and public-private-partnerships for large-scale development, redevelopment, infill, mixed-use, planned community and transit-oriented projects. 

Kevin P. Walsh’s practice is in the firm’s Litigation Department where he represents a variety of clients in the construction and real estate industries. In his construction law and commercial litigation practice, he provides contractors, design professionals, developers and governmental entities with a wide range of legal services, including contract drafting and negotiation; dispute avoidance and de-escalation; mediation, litigation and arbitration; compliance guidance; and appeals. 

A member of the firm’s Real Estate Department, Jacob P. Whitted’s local and national real estate practice focuses on the development, acquisition, financing, leasing and disposition of a variety of real estate asset classes, including multifamily apartment and condominium developments, senior living facilities, mixed-use, office and retail projects, and commercial and industrial properties and portfolios.

Brian M. McKeon is a member of the firm’s Government Relations Department and is a leading Senate strategist who identifies, secures and preserves appropriations funding, and primarily focuses on policy issues related to agriculture, sustainability, corporate compliance, supply chain transparency and technology. He draws on his relationships with the Democratic Party and deep procedural knowledge of the U.S. Senate to generate traction for his clients’ priorities. 

Sarah Walters is a member of the firm’s Natural Resources Department, where she leverages her experience as a former litigator to provide counsel on laws, policies, regulations and legislation moving through federal and state policy arenas. She represents clients before Congress and federal agencies on a range of matters, including administrative law, regulatory compliance, Indian affairs and tribal gaming. 

Maximilien D. Fetaz’s practice is in the firm’s Litigation Department, where he represents his clients in state and federal court in complex commercial litigation disputes, with a focus on securities and M&A litigation. He also has broad experience in defending manufacturers against product liability claims, securing fair outcomes under Nevada’s public procurement laws, representing companies in Nevada’s burgeoning cannabis industry and pursuing contract claims in Nevada’s gaming industry. 

Policy Director
A member of the firm’s Government Relations Department, Doug M. Maguire brings over 20 years of experience providing investment advisory services, risk mitigation strategies, international government affairs support and strategic philanthropy guidance for corporations, private equity firms, international aid agencies, NGOs, foundations and universities operating in emerging markets.

Of Counsel
A member of the firm’s Intellectual Property Department, Peter J. Nagle’s practice focuses on patent preparation and prosecution, patent strategy and post-grant proceedings. His work spans many disciplines, including consumer electronic devices, electric vehicles, unmanned aerial vehicles, video and audio streaming, user interfaces, automated speech recognition, intelligent automated assistants, optics and general computer software.

Meet The Team

Matthew C. Arentsen Shareholder T 303.223.1152
Maximilien D. Fetaz Shareholder T 702.464.7083
Douglas M. Maguire Policy Director T 202.872.5289
Brian M. McKeon Shareholder T 202.872.5283
Anna-Liisa Mullis Shareholder T 303.223.1165
Peter J. Nagle Of Counsel T 303.223.1180
Charles J. Smith Shareholder T 303.223.1289
Jacob P. Whitted Shareholder T 303.223.1209
Kevin P. Walsh Shareholder T 303.223.1249
Sarah Walters Shareholder T 202.383.4719