California Coastal Act - Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

The California Coastal Commission, which administers the California Coastal Act, is considered by many to be the most powerful land use regulatory agency in the state. The Commission has policy-making and permitting authority over the vast majority of California’s coastal areas (Coastal Zone), and nearly every development project in the Coastal Zone will come before the Coastal Commission.

Our land use attorneys and in-house planners have substantial experience in issues relating to the California Coastal Act and many years’ experience in securing permits from the Coastal Commission on behalf of our clients and in litigating against the Commission when the circumstances warrant. With our San Diego, Orange County, Los Angeles and Santa Barbara offices near the Coastal Zone and a Sacramento office at the center of state politics, we are well situated to provide the legal advice and political advocacy required for coastal property owners and developers considering pursuing projects anywhere in California’s Coastal Zone.

Both private property owners and developers and public agencies pursuing infrastructure projects are among our clients, which have included a major hotel developer, the developer of Santa Barbara County’s first wind project, private beachfront property owners, Orange County, housing developers and a regional electric utility.

Meet The Team

Steven A. Amerikaner Shareholder T 805.882.1407 samerikaner@bhfs.com
Peter N. Brown Shareholder T 805.882.1401 pbrown@bhfs.com
Beth Collins Shareholder T 805.882.1419 bcollins@bhfs.com
Diane C. De Felice Shareholder T 310.500.4613 ddefelice@bhfs.com
Jessica L. Diaz Associate T 805-882-1416 jdiaz@bhfs.com
Dylan K. Johnson Associate T 805.882.1413 djohnson@bhfs.com
Patsy Stadelman Price Senior Land Use Project Manager T 805.882.1424 pprice@bhfs.com
Susan F. Petrovich Shareholder T 805.882.1405 spetrovich@bhfs.com
Ryan Waterman Shareholder T 619.702.7569 rwaterman@bhfs.com