Corporate & Business

Constant involvement in the marketplace. We know that successful transactions require agility, knowledge, relationships, and the broad market and in-depth legal knowledge that one can only gain by high deal flow. We take the time to learn about your investment strategy, business challenges and future goals. We strive to identify potential issues to help you navigate the smoothest road to success. It’s a true partnership that is dedicated to all facets of your business development.

Our various Corporate & Business practice groups collaborate with each other and with other practices within the firm to offer you a robust suite of legal services. From the seasoned policy advisors in our Government Affairs practice to the effectiveness of our Litigation groups, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck is always there when it matters. We are redefining presence. We are redefining access. We are redefining service.

Contacts
Gino A. Maurelli 303.223.1115 gmaurelli@bhfs.com
Recognition

Chambers USA, 2017
Colorado: Corporate M&A

What the team is known for: Acclaimed transactional group that handles a wide range of commercial and private equity transactions for buyers and sellers. Noted for its work in the gaming and hospitality sectors. Also advises clients from healthcare, technology and natural resources.

Strengths: Clients note that the "fantastic" team is "extremely professional, thorough and very quick to get back to us." 

Nevada: Corporate/Commercial

What the team is known for: Highly regarded practice with notable expertise in equity restructuring, financing and M&A matters. Possesses a strong bench of attorneys offering counsel to a variety of borrower and lender clients including gaming companies and financial institutions. Offers particular expertise on matters falling at the intersection of IP and corporate transactions. 

    Representative Matters
    • Represented Prairie Dog Pet Products, LLC in the closing of its credit facility with Presidential Financial Corporation.

    • Represented Guaranty Bank and Trust in a term loan and revolving credit facility for SpeedPro Imaging, a leading large format custom graphic printing company in the United States and Canada and a portfolio company of Fairfield-Maxwell.

    • Represented KeyBank in a term loan and revolving credit facility for Binswanger Enterprises, LLC, a leading manufacturer of glass and aluminum products for construction, residential and automotive markets in the U.S. and a portfolio company of Grey Mountain Partners.

    • Successfully represented employers in union organizing campaigns where the employers believed that unions were not needed in the workplace and remain non-union.

    • Represented Victory Park Capital and its portfolio company, VPC Fuller Brush Operating Corp. in a Senior Secured Loan.

    • Represented Prospect Global Resources in its initial public offering and follow-on public offerings.

    • Lead counsel to Sun Mountain Capital in documenting a term loan facility for recommissioning of a sawmill in Saratoga, Wyoming.

    • Served as counsel to Vail Resorts Development Company and RCR Vail, LLC in connection with New York state registration to permissibly market its Vail, Colorado-based Ritz-Carlton Residences project to prospective New York purchasers.

    • Represented U.S. Geothermal Inc. in the development and construction of its $137 million, 22-megawatt-net geothermal power plant in Oregon. Part of the project financing included negotiating a loan and a loan guarantee with the U.S. Department of Energy and the Federal Financing Bank for this leading renewable energy geothermal development company.

    • Represented a public company issuer in connection with its public offering of securities issued in the private placement via a registration statement filed with the SEC.

    • Represented an oil and gas public company in its successful private placement to 32 accredited investors (as defined in Regulation D) valued at $793,732.

    • Acted as local Nevada counsel in connection with offering by Reddy Ice Corporation of first lien senior secured notes and an exchange offer of second lien senior secured notes for senior discount notes of Reddy Ice Holdings, Inc.

    • Served as underwriter's counsel in connection with the delivery of a total of $239,365,000 University Enterprise Revenue Bonds. The University Revenue Bonds were delivered in three series: $76,725,000 Tax-Exempt University Revenue Bonds Subseries 2009B-1; $138,130,000 Taxable University Enterprise Revenue Bonds Subseries 2009B-2 (Build America Bonds -- Direct Payment) and $24,510,000 Tax-Exempt University Enterprise Refunding Bonds Series 2009C.

    • Served as underwriter's counsel in connection with the delivery of $39,355,000 Mojave Water Agency, Revenue Certificates of Participation, Series 2009A.

    • Represented the developer in the acquisition of a vacant hotel, obtaining entitlements for redevelopment of the site as a mixed-use (residential/retail), transit-oriented development; resolution of title matters; construction financing; leasing of retail space and eventual $60.9 million sale of the project in Denver, CO.

    • Served as underwriter's counsel in connection with $130,080,000 Orange County Water District, Revenue Refunding Certificates of Participation, Series 2009A.

    • Represent Signet Solar Inc. in a Department of Energy loan guarantee transaction and project financing associated with its Sun Kachina PV production facility in Belen, New Mexico.

    • Represented the purchaser/redeveloper of the former Gates Factory site, which consists of 55 acres and 2 million building square feet, located at I-25 and Broadway in Denver. The firm's work for the redevelopment involved brownfields redevelopment, environmental remediation, acquisition of entitlements for a mixed-use transit-oriented development, neighborhood negotiations and structuring of public and private financing.

    • Represented a local private foundation in forming a public-private joint venture with a leading medical institution and a leading educational institution with seed and support funding provided by the foundation. The venture was approved by the Colorado Commission on Higher Education and represented the first time such a not-for-profit limited liability company was formed in Colorado.

    • Representing private equity project developer for negotiation of groundwater subscription agreements and public-private partnership to construct an 80-mile water supply pipeline in southwest Texas.

    • Served as special COP counsel in connection with a $17,735,000 lease purchase financing of the new Denver Botanic Gardens parking garage. Certificates of Participation, Series 2008B, evidenced a proportionate interest in the base rentals and other revenues under an annually-renewable lease purchase agreement between the Denver Botanic Gardens Parking Facility Trust 2008 as lessor, and the City and County of Denver as lessee.

    • Served as local counsel to Quest Resource Corporation in its common stock offering.

    • Represented UBS Securities in its underwriting of $35 million in Clean Water Resources and Power Development Authority, Clean Water Revenue Bonds, 2007 Series A.

    • Represented the Baptist Road Rural Transportation Authority as bond counsel in connection with its issuance of $21.5 million of Sales and Use Tax Revenue Bonds, Series 2007.

    • Represented Southern Pacific Railroad Company in selling right of ways to state and local transportation agencies for mass transit use. Negotiated shared trackage agreement for commuter rail service.

    Publications
    News & Events

    Meet The Team

    Steven E. Abelman Shareholder T 303.223.1102 sabelman@bhfs.com
    Adam J. Agron Shareholder T 303.223.1134 aagron@bhfs.com
    David R. Arrajj Shareholder T 702.464.7053 darrajj@bhfs.com
    Robert P. Attai Shareholder T 303.223.1271 rattai@bhfs.com
    Kinny Bagga Associate T 303.223.1172 kbagga@bhfs.com
    Gregory W. Berger Shareholder T 303.223.1158 gberger@bhfs.com
    Andrew S. Brignone Shareholder T 702.464.7006 abrignone@bhfs.com
    Brittany N. Bliffen Law Clerk T 303.223.1113 bbliffen@bhfs.com
    Jonathan R. Bloch Shareholder T 310.500.4632 jbloch@bhfs.com
    Norman Brownstein Shareholder T 303.223.1101 nbrownstein@bhfs.com
    Andrew C. Elliott Shareholder T 303.223.1154 aelliott@bhfs.com
    C.J. Chapman Shareholder T 303.223.1243 cchapman@bhfs.com
    Cara L. Crowley-Weber, Ph.D. Shareholder T 303.223.1145 ccrowley-weber@bhfs.com
    Jennifer Carleton Shareholder T 702.464.7086 jcarleton@bhfs.com
    Kevin A. Cudney Shareholder T 303.223.1166 kcudney@bhfs.com
    Sharon E. Caulfield Shareholder T (303) 223-1110 scaulfield@bhfs.com
    Steven C. Demby Shareholder T 303.223.1119 sdemby@bhfs.com
    Steven W. Farber Shareholder T 303.223.1109 sfarber@bhfs.com
    Aaron M. Hyatt Shareholder T 303.223.1107 ahyatt@bhfs.com
    Albert Z. Kovacs Shareholder T 702.464.7076 akovacs@bhfs.com
    Erik J. Jensen Associate T 303.223.1205 ejensen@bhfs.com
    Hunter T. Metcalf Associate T 303.223.1215 hmetcalf@bhfs.com
    Justin M. Hahn Associate T 303.223.1277 jhahn@bhfs.com
    Joshua M. Hantman Shareholder T 303.223.1216 jhantman@bhfs.com
    Jeffrey M. Knetsch Shareholder T 303.223.1160 jknetsch@bhfs.com
    Michael Havlik Associate T 303.223.1137 mhavlik@bhfs.com
    Michael W. King Shareholder T 303.223.1130 mking@bhfs.com
    Rob Kaufmann Shareholder T 303.223.1176 rkaufmann@bhfs.com
    Steven A. Jung Senior Counsel T 805.882.1443 sjung@bhfs.com
    Avi Loewenstein Associate T 303.223.1136 aloewenstein@bhfs.com
    Alexandra Fidler Metzl Shareholder T 303.223.1157 ametzl@bhfs.com
    Angela Turriciano Otto Shareholder T 702.464.7064 aotto@bhfs.com
    Erin Lewis Shareholder T 702.464.7087 elewis@bhfs.com
    Gino A. Maurelli Shareholder T 303.223.1115 gmaurelli@bhfs.com
    Kristin Macdonald Shareholder T 303.223.1242 kmacdonald@bhfs.com
    Matthew R. Nyberg Shareholder T 303.223.1153 mnyberg@bhfs.com
    Mark M. Oveson Shareholder T 303.223.1127 moveson@bhfs.com
    Trayton D. Oakes Associate T 303.223.1295 toakes@bhfs.com
    Paul M. O'Gara Shareholder T 609.241.0174 pogara@bhfs.com
    Rikard D. Lundberg Shareholder T 303.223.1232 rlundberg@bhfs.com
    Rebecca L. Miltenberger Shareholder T 702.464.7052 rmiltenberger@bhfs.com
    Ryan L. Nichols Associate T 303.223.1112 rnichols@bhfs.com
    Scott McEachron Associate T 303.223.1278 smceachron@bhfs.com
    Thomas D. Livingston Associate T 303.223.1227 tlivingston@bhfs.com
    J. Tenley Oldak Shareholder T 303.223.1159 toldak@bhfs.com
    Adam P. Segal Shareholder T 702.464.7001 asegal@bhfs.com
    Christine E. Ray Contract Attorney T 805.882.1423 cray@bhfs.com
    Christopher D. Reiss Shareholder T 303.223.1144 creiss@bhfs.com
    Christine A. Samsel Shareholder T 303.223.1133 csamsel@bhfs.com
    Cara R. Sterling Shareholder T 303.223.1141 csterling@bhfs.com
    Elizabeth D. Paulsen Shareholder T 303.223.1187 epaulsen@bhfs.com
    Ellen Schulhofer Shareholder T 702.464.7059 eschulhofer@bhfs.com
    Frank A. Schreck Shareholder T 702.382.2101 fschreck@bhfs.com
    George Short Shareholder T 805.882.1441 gshort@bhfs.com
    Hal Stratton Shareholder T 505.724.9596 hstratton@bhfs.com
    Ishra K. Solieman Staff Attorney T 303.260.1880 isolieman@bhfs.com
    Jay Spader Shareholder T 303.223.1146 jspader@bhfs.com
    Michael J. Pankow Shareholder T 303.223.1106 mpankow@bhfs.com
    Michelle Lee Pickett Shareholder T 805.882.1422 mpickett@bhfs.com
    Nancy A. Strelau Shareholder T 303.223.1151 nstrelau@bhfs.com
    Paul J. Prendergast, Ph.D. Shareholder T 303.223.1194 pprendergast@bhfs.com
    Joshua P. Rosenholtz Associate T 303.223.1272 jrosenholtz@bhfs.com
    Kathleen C. Snow Associate T 303.223.1230 ksnow@bhfs.com
    Alexander M. Urban Associate T 303.223.1217 aurban@bhfs.com
    Daniel L. Winer Associate T 303.223.1189 dwiner@bhfs.com
    Margaux Trammell Shareholder T 303.223.1192 mtrammell@bhfs.com
    Martine Tariot Wells Associate T 303.223.1213 mwells@bhfs.com
    Sonia Church Vermeys Of Counsel T 702.464.7066 svermeys@bhfs.com
    Barbara E. Chesebro Paralegal T 303.223.1479 bchesebro@bhfs.com
    Conni J. Hebert Paralegal T 702.464.7051 chebert@bhfs.com
    Dawn R. Sullivan Paralegal T 303.223.1404 drsullivan@bhfs.com
    Sheila M. Grisham Paralegal T 303.223.1377 sgrisham@bhfs.com
    Jean M. Harrison Paralegal T 303.223.1383 jharrison@bhfs.com
    Julie Obermeyer Paralegal T 702.464.7079 jobermeyer@bhfs.com
    Karen R. Smith Paralegal T 303.223.1390 ksmith@bhfs.com
    Kathy L. Oster Paralegal T 303.223.1343 koster@bhfs.com
    Kimberly A. Mumford Paralegal T 805.882.1478 kmumford@bhfs.com
    Kate M. Meade Paralegal T 303.223.1339 kmeade@bhfs.com
    Sara R. Mares Paralegal T 303.223.1476 smares@bhfs.com
    Shannon M. Kline Paralegal T 702.464.7088 skline@bhfs.com
    Sheri S. Fisher Paralegal T 303.223.1359 sfisher@bhfs.com
    Stephanie Klepp Paralegal T 303.223.1395 sklepp@bhfs.com
    Valerie H. Brown Paralegal T 303.223.1318 vbrown@bhfs.com