Jumped to No. 2 Federal Lobbying Firm in Just 20 Years - Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

Brownstein Tops List of Federal Lobbying Firms

No matter what the type of organization, playing an active role in the political decision-making process and policy formation is no longer a luxury—it is an imperative.

Since 1995, Brownstein’s Washington, D.C. office has grown from a one-man shop to the largest firm by revenue in the United States. Brownstein has been a top 10 lobbying firm for a decade and in 2019 we earned our first No. 1 place on the list of federal lobbying firms, based on revenue. From a combination of intelligent targeting, client retention, client referrals, smart hires and our professionals’ drive, we continue to see growth. We’re proud to represent some of the most high-profile clients to bring their issues before Congress and have confronted head-on some of the biggest challenges facing our country.

For a Denver-based law firm, Brownstein’s status as a top lobbying firm is unprecedented. We credit our talented team for consistently delivering results, even when the odds are stacked against us.

  • Top talent. Brownstein’s federal government relations group boasts professionals with experience working in senior-most capacities on Capitol Hill, in the Executive Branch and in government agencies.
  • Bipartisan experience. Our team draws on decades of experience working on both sides of the political aisle, and on the insights and connectivity that go with it. From former U.S. senators to presidential appointees, Brownstein’s Government Relations team is comprised of Republican and Democratic heavy-hitters.
  • Policy junkies. Because of the diverse backgrounds of our team, we stay on the cutting edge of the latest legislative debates. We get involved early in expanding areas of public policy and keep our clients informed and up-to-date on key information about how laws and regulations will impact their business goals.

Our results speak for themselves. Check out how we rank compared to our competitors here.

Meet The Team

Norman Brownstein Shareholder T 303.223.1101 nbrownstein@bhfs.com
Marc S. Lampkin Shareholder T 202.652.2341 mlampkin@bhfs.com
Alfred E. Mottur Shareholder T 202.872.5284 amottur@bhfs.com
Barry Jackson Strategic Advisor T 202.652.2342 bjackson@bhfs.com
David P. Cohen Shareholder T 202.872.5286 dcohen@bhfs.com
R. James Nicholson Senior Counsel T 202.652.2344 jnicholson@bhfs.com
William E. Moschella Shareholder T 202.652.2346 wmoschella@bhfs.com
Ryan A. Smith Shareholder T 202.747.0507 rsmith@bhfs.com
Carmencita N. M. Whonder Policy Director T 202.652.2343 cwhonder@bhfs.com
Douglas M. Maguire Senior Policy Advisor T 202.872.5289 dmaguire@bhfs.com
Elizabeth A. Maier Policy Director T 202.872.5299 emaier@bhfs.com
Jon Hrobsky Policy Director T 202.872.5294 jhrobsky@bhfs.com
John Sonsalla Strategic Consulting Advisor T 202.652.2357 jsonsalla@bhfs.com
Luke D. Johnson Policy Director T 202.747.0513 ldjohnson@bhfs.com
Michael B. Levy Policy Director T 202.872.5281 mlevy@bhfs.com
Zachary S. Pfister Policy Director T 202.652.2345 zpfister@bhfs.com