President Trump's Aug. 8 Tax Executive Orders

President Trump's Aug. 8 Tax Executive Orders

Aug 11, 2020

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, August 11, 2020

On Saturday, Aug. 8, 2020, President Donald Trump signed four executive orders (EO) to defer payroll taxes, set up an assistance program for lost wages to supplement unemployment benefits, extend the federal moratorium on evictions and defer student loan payments.

Brownstein’s National Tax Policy team prepared an analysis focused on the two tax-related EOs on Aug. 10. Click here to view key updates related to the implementation of the payroll tax deferral and the Lost Wage Assistance (LWA) program.

For more information on both EOs, click here to view a webcast from the Brownstein National Tax Policy Team’s Russ Sullivan and Radha Mohan.

Meet The Team

Rosemary Becchi Strategic Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4421 rbecchi@bhfs.com
Gregory W. Berger Shareholder T 303.223.1158 gberger@bhfs.com
Harold Hancock Shareholder T 202.383.4422 hhancock@bhfs.com
Lori Harju Policy Director T 202.747.0519 lharju@bhfs.com
Charlie A. Iovino Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4424 ciovino@bhfs.com
Gregory M. Janssen Associate T 303.223.1288 gjanssen@bhfs.com
Anne C. Starke Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.872.5297 astarke@bhfs.com
Nancy A. Strelau Shareholder T 303.223.1151 nstrelau@bhfs.com
Russell W. Sullivan Shareholder T 202.383.4423 rsullivan@bhfs.com
Daniel Joseph Policy Advisor T 202.216.4864 djoseph@bhfs.com
Michael P. Marn Policy Assistant T 202.652.2355 mmarn@bhfs.com
Radha Mohan Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.383.4425 rmohan@bhfs.com
Sage Schaftel Policy Assistant T 202.383.4716 sschaftel@bhfs.com