HEALS Act Safe and Healthy Workplace Tax Credit Guide for Employers

HEALS Act Safe and Healthy Workplace Tax Credit Guide for Employers

Aug 04, 2020

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, August 4, 2020

The July 27, 2020, Senate draft of the Health, Economic Assistance, Liability Protection and Schools (“HEALS”) Act provides a tax credit for employers who incur certain expenses in response to COVID-19. Referred to as the Safe and Healthy Workplace Tax Credit (“SHWTC”), the credit is available to employers who incur qualified employee protection expenses, qualified workplace reconfiguration expenses and qualified workplace technology expenses. This question-and-answer format guide summarizes the SHWTC, explains how businesses can claim the credit, sets forth the limitations on using the SHWTC when other relief has been claimed, and addresses other outstanding questions regarding the credit, all in a question-and-answer format. 

Click here for Brownstein's SHWTC guide for employers. 
 

Meet The Team

Rosemary Becchi Strategic Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4421 rbecchi@bhfs.com
Harold Hancock Shareholder T 202.383.4422 hhancock@bhfs.com
Lori Harju Policy Director T 202.747.0519 lharju@bhfs.com
Charlie A. Iovino Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4424 ciovino@bhfs.com
Gregory M. Janssen Associate T 303.223.1288 gjanssen@bhfs.com
Daniel Joseph Policy Advisor T 202.216.4864 djoseph@bhfs.com
Russell W. Sullivan Shareholder T 202.383.4423 rsullivan@bhfs.com
Radha Mohan Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.383.4425 rmohan@bhfs.com