Congressional Oversight & Investigations

Successful representation before Congress takes a multi-faceted approach. Our Congressional Oversight & Investigations Group provides both strategic advice and legal counsel to companies and individuals involved with and connected to various stages of Congressional investigations. 

We begin with the premise that both politics and criminal laws are always in play during any interaction on Capitol Hill. Navigating the politics and processes on the Hill requires both policy and legal experience. Any time someone provides information to Congress—particularly sworn testimony—it is important to understand all of the potential policy and criminal implications. Our team includes former high-level Congressional staffers and federal prosecutors who together have the necessary legal and legislative experience to anticipate and counsel on all aspects of oversight and investigations.

We represent clients who are appearing before Congressional committees conducting oversight and investigations, as well as those responding to subpoenas or other requests for information. Working with members of Congress and their staff, we negotiate the extent of document requests and testimony, prepare witnesses for testimony, and navigate the political and legal minefields associated with any appearance before Congress.

Our experience includes representing a major telecommunications company, a hospital health care company, a major homebuilder and a large financial institution.

Representative Matters
  • Faced with intense Congressional scrutiny, Brownstein worked with our client to develop congressional messaging, engage in meetings in the United States Senate, and prepare for a high profile congressional hearing, ultimately mitigating Congressional concerns.

  • Led the team for a major corporate client during a very intense period of crisis management when the company was under scrutiny from the Congress, including Hill outreach and extensive hearing preparation. This resulted in two successful hearings on Capitol Hill.

  • Led effort on behalf of a global financial services firm to initiate congressional oversight which resulted in successful termination of an enforcement action.

  • Led the lobbying team for a company that faced aggressive questioning from Members of Congress on a potential data security incident. Also, prepared the client for congressional hearings on the topic, successfully navigating the potentially difficult forums.

  • Brownstein successfully assisted AMC Theatres in sensitive proceedings involving foreign investment, CFIUS, and occasioned political interest. Brownstein worked to inoculate these matters from undue political pressure.

Meet The Team

Gregory A. Brower Shareholder T 202.652.2340 gbrower@bhfs.com
David P. Cohen Shareholder T 202.872.5286 dcohen@bhfs.com
Milan V. Dalal Of Counsel T 202.383.4709 mdalal@bhfs.com
Barry Jackson Strategic Advisor T 202.652.2342 bjackson@bhfs.com
Marc S. Lampkin Shareholder T 202.652.2341 mlampkin@bhfs.com
Michael B. Levy Policy Director T 202.872.5281 mlevy@bhfs.com
R. James Nicholson Senior Counsel T 202.652.2344 jnicholson@bhfs.com
William J. McGrath Shareholder T 202.383.4703 wmcgrath@bhfs.com
William E. Moschella Shareholder T 202.652.2346 wmoschella@bhfs.com
Elizabeth A. Maier Policy Director T 202.872.5299 emaier@bhfs.com