ARPA COBRA Subsidy Model Notices and Guidance Released Today Requires Immediate Action

ARPA COBRA Subsidy Model Notices and Guidance Released Today Requires Immediate Action

Apr 07, 2021

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, April 7, 2021

Ahead of its April 11, 2021 deadline, the U.S. Department of Labor (“DOL”) has issued some guidance and model notices related to the temporary 100% subsidy for COBRA health care continuation coverage (including under state mini-COBRA statutes) to “assistance eligible individuals” (“AEIs”), which was enacted under the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (“ARPA”). See our prior newsletter about the ARPA COBRA subsidiary here.

The DOL has established a dedicated webpage for the ARPA COBRA Premium Subsidy, which can be found here. The webpage has two sections—one for workers and their families and one for employers and their advisers. Much of the information in the two sections is duplicative (for example, both sections contain links to the model notices and the FAQs).  

Most importantly, the webpage includes FAQs and model notices:

We know many of you are eager to begin communicating with your workforces about the ARPA COBRA subsidy. However, we encourage you to take the time to initially and carefully review all of the FAQs and the notices so you understand their contents and what questions may remain unanswered (for example, this DOL guidance does not address the issues related to actually taking the credit as that guidance will be issued by the IRS and the Treasury Department). We will be conducting our own review and will be incorporating the information gleaned from the FAQs and notices in our ARPA COBRA action plan, which we will share once we’ve updated it.

How We Can Help

Please contact one of us or your regular Brownstein attorney for answers to your questions about this new COBRA subsidy.

This document is intended to provide you with general information regarding employee benefits issues. The contents of this document are not intended to provide specific legal advice. If you have any questions about the contents of this document or if you need legal advice as to an issue, please contact the attorneys listed or your regular Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP attorney. This communication may be considered advertising in some jurisdictions.

Meet The Team

Nancy A. Strelau Shareholder T 303.223.1151 nstrelau@bhfs.com
David M. Spaulding Shareholder T 303.223.1241 dspaulding@bhfs.com
Cara R. Sterling Shareholder T 303.223.1141 csterling@bhfs.com
Adam P. Segal Shareholder T 702.464.7001 asegal@bhfs.com
Bryce C. Loveland Shareholder T 702.464.7024 bcloveland@bhfs.com
Christopher M. Humes Shareholder T 702.464.7094 chumes@bhfs.com
William D. Nobriga Associate T 303.223.1306 wnobriga@bhfs.com
Loading...