Brownstein Attorneys Make 2022 List of Best Lawyers in America
See all News

Brownstein Attorneys Make 2022 List of Best Lawyers in America

August 19, 2021

Fifty-eight attorneys from Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck were selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2022 edition of Best Lawyers in America, the legal profession’s oldest and most respected peer-review publication. Attorneys from eight of Brownstein’s offices were recognized in 35 different law categories ranging from bankruptcy, litigation and gaming to corporate, real estate and government relations.

Five attorneys received “Lawyer of the Year” recognition, including Steven A. Amerikaner from the firm’s Santa Barbara office for land use and zoning law, Michael F. Feeley from the firm’s Denver office for government relations practice, Albert Z. Kovacs from Brownstein’s Las Vegas office for mergers and acquisitions law, Mitchell J. Langberg from the firm’s Las Vegas office for First Amendment law and Nancy A. Strelau from the firm’s Denver office for employee benefits (ERISA) law. 

Attorneys from eight of the firm’s offices included:

  • Steven E. Abelman, litigation - bankruptcy
  • Adam J. Agron, corporate law, mergers and acquisitions law, securities/capital markets law
  • Nicole R. Ament, real estate law
  • Steven A. Amerikaner, land use and zoning law, natural resources law, real estate law
  • Robert P. Attai, corporate law, international mergers and acquisitions, mergers and acquisitions law
  • Sarah Auchterlonie, corporate compliance law
  • Richard B. Benenson, commercial litigation, mass tort litigation/class actions - defendants
  • Gregory W. Berger, tax law
  • Andrew S. Brignone, litigation - ERISA
  • Norman Brownstein, government relations practice
  • Eric R. Burris, product liability litigation - defendants
  • Justin L. Cohen, commercial litigation
  • Beth Collins, land use and zoning law
  • William J. Downey III, gaming law
  • Erin M. Eiselein, health care law, litigation - health care
  • Hubert A. Farbes, Jr., commercial litigation, litigation - construction
  • Michael F. Feeley, government relations practice
  • Frank M. Flansburg III, commercial litigation
  • Stanley L. Garnett, criminal defense: white-collar
  • Stephanie Osler Hastings, water law
  • S. Craig Hemenway, patent law
  • Bradley J. Herrema, water law
  • Lisa Hogan, litigation - labor and employment
  • Aaron M. Hyatt, real estate law
  • Christopher A. Jacobs, real estate law
  • Bruce A. James, real estate law
  • Robert Kaufmann, real estate law
  • Michael W. King, corporate law, health care law
  • Jeffrey M. Knetsch, securities/capital markets law
  • Albert Z. Kovacs, business organizations (including LLCs and partnerships), corporate law, mergers and acquisitions law
  • Mitchell J. Langberg, First Amendment law, media law
  • Kirk B. Lenhard, bet-the-company litigation, commercial litigation
  • Mark J. Mathews, environmental law
  • Gino A. Maurelli, corporate law, mergers and acquisitions law
  • Alfred E. Mottur, communications law
  • Paul M. O’Gara, gaming law
  • Angela Turriciano Otto, real estate law
  • Michael J. Pankow, banking and finance law, bankruptcy and creditor debtor rights/insolvency and reorganization law
  • Elizabeth D. Paulsen, corporate law
  • Jonathan G. Pray, litigation – construction
  • Mark L. Pryor, government relations practice 
  • Patrick J. Reilly, commercial litigation
  • Ronda L. Sandquist, environmental law
  • Robert J. Saperstein, water law
  • Scott Scherer, gaming law
  • Frank A. Schreck, gaming law
  • Ellen L. Schulhofer, corporate law
  • Adam P. Segal, litigation – ERISA
  • Steven O. Sims, water law
  • Scott S. Slater, water law
  • Ryan A. Smith, Native American law
  • Amy M. Steinfeld, water law
  • Nancy A. Strelau, employee benefits (ERISA) law
  • Russell W. Sullivan, tax law
  • Gregory A. Vallin, real estate law
  • Sonia Church Vermeys, corporate law, gaming law
  • Eric Waeckerlin, environmental law, litigation – environmental, natural resources law
  • Carolynne C. White, land use and zoning law, municipal law, real estate law

In addition, 16 attorneys from the firm’s Denver and Las Vegas offices were listed in the second edition of Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch in America in 13 different law categories. They included:

  • Matthew C. Arentsen, commercial litigation
  • Travis F. Chance, commercial litigation, litigation - labor and employment
  • Emily L. Dyer, commercial litigation
  • Erin Elliott, land use and zoning law
  • Emily A. Ellis, commercial litigation
  • Julian R. Ellis, Jr., government relations practice
  • Maximilien D. Fetaz, commercial litigation, litigation - securities
  • Andrew J. Freyer, intellectual property law
  • Shane C. Griffin, real estate law
  • Christopher J. Hand, leveraged buyouts and private equity law, mergers and acquisitions law
  • Chloe Mickel, litigation - construction
  • Peter J. Nagle, intellectual property law
  • Hirsch L. Neustein, real estate law
  • Nicholas R. Santucci, litigation - labor and employment
  • Courtney Shephard, energy law, environmental law
  • Eric D. Walther, appellate practice, commercial litigation

Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which tens of thousands of leading attorneys cast almost 5.5 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

Recent Insights